Because of Winn Dixie by Kate DiCamillo

Reviews

Title: Because of Winn-Dixie

Author: Kate DiCamillo

Format Read: Audiobook

Rating: 4 Stars

Summary:

India Opal Buloni just wants to make friends. Little did she know she would find her best friend at the local Winn-Dixie grocery store.

Opal only went to buy a box of macaroni and cheese, some rice, and two tomatoes. But what she came home with was … a dog. A rather ugly dog that she saved from being hauled off to the pound. A dog she named Winn-Dixie.

Together, the unlikely duo befriend various people in Opal’s new hometown. They befriend the local librarian and the local witch (well, that’s what the Dewberry brothers call her). They befriend Otis at the pet shop, and even thumb sucking Sweetie Pie Thomas.

While they are busy befriending everyone they can, Opal soon realizes that she isn’t just looking for a friend, but she’s looking for family. A family to fill the void her mom made when she left.

Through her new found friends, she finds exactly what she’s looking for? But will it be enough to fill that void in her heart?

What Didn’t Work:

I truly loved Kate DiCamillo’s Because of Winn-Dixie. But there was just one tiny aspect that bothered me. And that aspect was: there wasn’t much resolve for me. Honestly, I think it bothered me because I am an adult. I don’t necessarily think kids who read this book will be bothered by it at all.

What Did Work: 

Kate DiCamillo’s writing is simple but strong. But as much as I loved the writing and the way she crafted such a special story, what I loved most was the varied cast of characters.

Opal was my absolute favorite. I loved how open and honest she was. And the fact that she was such a relatable character. Seriously, as an adult I saw a lot of myself within her. Besides that, I felt like I learned a lot from her as well.

And of course I loved Winn-Dixie. Most animal charachters I’ve met fall flat, they never seem to have a personality. But not Winn-Dixie! He’s spunky, full of life, and brings a bit of magic to this already magical book.

But the aspect that I loved the most were the relationships and friendships portrayed. Each felt real and authentic.

Recommendation:

Most definitely yes! I really loved this book.

Similar Books to Read After:

  • The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate
  • Holes by Louis Sachar
  • The Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson

(Book cover image from GoodReads)

Leave a comment