Freebie Friday: If You Liked This, Then Check This Out

Hello Readers!

Have you ever read one book and either as you were reading or after you’ve finished immediately thought of another book?

This happens to me all the time. And it happened recently. So I thought I’d share another “If you’ve read (and enjoyed) this, then check this out…”

I recently read Julie Murphy’s Side Effects May Vary, and while it wasn’t my all time favorite, I did enjoy it as a whole. But while I was reading it I couldn’t help but think of another book I read.  I couldn’t help but think about Julie Halpern’s F-It List.

Let’s start at the very obvious beginning. Both books have a very similar vibe.  They are both contemporary, realistic reads that feature a heavy subject matter: cancer. But more than that, they are books that are about embracing life and living it to the fullest – no matter what.

Then there are the main characters – Becca (The F-It List) and Alice (Side Effects May Vary). Both are strong leading ladies, both know exactly who they are – or at least they think they do. Beyond that they both know the kind of lives they want to lead given the chance to.  And even though these are all likable qualities in a character, I personally found both Becca and Alice to be not so likable. With that said, I do feel that that was very purposely done.

Besides the strong female characters, both of these books feature best friends (Alex and Harvey) that are the truest definitions of the term ‘best friend’.  Both Becca and Alice have a sort of bucket list (another aspect both books have in common) and since they cannot necessarily fulfill this items on their own they enlist Alex and Harvey.  The things these friends to in the name of their friends happiness is astounding – from seeking revenge on enemies to getting high for the very first time – these friends make Becca and Alice’s worlds a little bit happier.

Above all else those the thing both Side Effects May Vary and The F-It List have in common is this: they are emotionally charged. Readers will experience almost every single emotion – from sadness (finding out the main characters are ill and may be dying) to anger (at how Becca and Alice sometimes treat their friends) and everything in between.

So, if you’ve already read and have enjoyed Side Effects May Vary by Julie Murphy, I think you should check out The F-It List by Julie Halpern.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s