Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Graphic Novels/Comics I Want to Read This Summer

(Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.)

Hello Readers!

I always say that I’m going to read more graphic novels/comics. And I somehow never get around to reading them. Well this summer, I’m truly hoping to read them. And today, I am sharing with you the top ten graphic novels/comics that I want to read this summer.

Pashmina by Nidhi Chanani – I first heard of this as I was preparing to go to this years Book Expo. While I read the summary on Goodreads I was just charmed.  And after meeting the author/illustrator, I’m just as charmed.

Ms. Marvel (Vol. 2) by G. Willow Wilson – I read volume one of Ms. Marvel for mainly one reason. It was set in Jersey City, New Jersey. And while I don’t live there, I live pretty close to it. That was the main reason why I read this comic, but after a few pages I really loved Ms. Marvel. I loved how it wasn’t what I expected, and I’m excited to continue on with it.

Giant Days by John Allison – Emma (aka Miss Print) said I should read it. Isn’t that enough of a reason to add it to my graphic novel/comic to be read list!

The Lumberjanes by Noelle Stevenson – This just sounds like fun. That’s enough for me to want to read a book!

Paper Girls (Vol. 1) by Brian K. Vaughn –  This is one of those books that I don’t know a lot about. What I do know is this: the cover totally drew me to it. I love the colors, how cool the girls look, and how it’s mysterious in a way. I can’t wait to read it to see what mystery unfolds

Monstress by Marjorie M. Liu  – To be honest, I’m not sure where I’ve heard of this book from, but I have heard of it.  And I want to read it. I don’t know much about the plot, but the cover is so stunningly beautiful, how can I not WANT to read it.

Wytches (Vol. 1) by Scott Snyder – I like witches, and horror and this seems to be the perfect combination of the two.

Nana (Vol. 1) by Ai Yazawa – I’ve only read a handful of manga. And while I’ve enjoyed those I have read, I struggled through them. Not because of writing or illustrations, but because of the format.  The format is what keeps me from reading more. But I may have to suck up my struggles and finally pick up Nana because it’s one that I’ve wanted to read for quite some time. The premise sounds so … interesting and intriguing: two different girls with the same exact name. Is there a connection?

Fun House by Alison Bechdel – one of my best-est friends kind of sold me on this one. After she saw the play, and raved about it, she told me all about it. And I’m kind of glad she did because otherwise I wouldn’t have heard of it before.  And this friend knows me pretty well (seriously, sometime I think she knows me better than I know myself) so I can’t wait to read it and talk about it with her.

The Tea Dragon Society by Katie O’Neill – I just recently heard of this one. I think I maybe/possibly read about it on a blog I follow. Wherever I read about it, I read good things. Good enough to add it to my TBR list.

Through the Woods by Emily  Carroll – I actually own this one. A year or so ago a local-ish to me bookstore opened. I had gone in with the intentions of buying something to show my support. While browsing around I stumbled upon their very small, yet very well stocked graphic novel/comic section. I picked this one up randomly because the plot sounded so go. I’m saddened (and a bit ashamed) that I have yet to pick it up a year later.

Spinning by Tillie Walden – this is a Book Expo book that I was lucky enough to meet and have signed. I don’t know what it is about this book, I just want to read it.

While I’m excited to read all these graphic novels/comics there is one comic that I am over the moon excited about.  And that comic is …

Skin & Earth written and illustrated by Lights.

Light is one of my most favorite musicians. She’s a super talented electro-pop artist whose music just puts me in a great mood. I can’t wait to read Skin & Earth.  I can’t wait to find out what this comic book holds and see where it takes her music.

 

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Graphic Novels/Comics I Want to Read This Summer

  1. missprint says:

    The Tea Dragon Society is so cute! I can’t handle it. Can’t wait to talk to you about Giant Days, Pashmina, and Paper Girls.

Leave a Reply

