Freebie Friday: What I Learned In Washington D.C.

Hello Readers!

A few weeks ago I took a mini vacation. Myself, my mother, a good friend and her son went down to Washington D.C. . We traveled down on a Friday and came back home on a Sunday … so yeah, when I said it was a mini vacation, I meant it was a mini vacation.

In the solid day and a half we were there we packed a TON of sightseeing in. To briefly recap we went to the zoo, saw the White House, the Washington Monument, the World War II memorial, the Lincoln Memorial, visited Ford’s Theater, the Peterson House, and even managed to squeeze in a haunted Georgetown ghost walk.

I also managed to have a very lovely breakfast with my friend Cecelia from The Adventures of Cecelia Bedelia (if you haven’t heard of her blog, you should totally check it out!) We went to Busboys & Poets, and oh my! was it good! And it was great to see/catch up with Cecelia, even if it was only for an hour or so.

I decided that I am not going to give a play-by-play recap my mini vacation. Instead, I am going to share with you, not only pictures, but what I learned during my mini vacation.

John Wilkes Booth originally planned to kidnap President Lincoln and hold him hostage until Confederate soldiers/sympathizers were released from prison. When this plan failed, he decided that the only way to seek revenge was to shoot and kill him. 

The tradition of presidential pardoning a turkey started when Lincoln’s son Tad, barged into one of his fathers meetings and begged his father not to kill the turkey since the turkey was his friend.

Robert Todd Lincoln, though not responsible, is linked to not one but assassinations: his fathers, President Lincoln, President Garfield, and  President McKinley. 

Speaking of Booth and Lincoln, Booth’s brother, Edwin, once saved Robert Todd Lincoln from falling off a train platform. 

Never underestimate a beautiful woman. Betty Duvall was a confederate spy, who charmed her way past Union Soldiers with a hidden message hid in her hair. Because of this, the first and biggest battle of the Civil War, The Battle of Bull Run, was won by the Confederacy and led to over 1000 Union Soldiers being killed that day. 

Haint Blue can keep unwanted ghosts/spirits out of your house. According to Gullah belief painting a front door, porch ceiling, or even shutters this specific shade of blue will not let unwanted ghosts/spirits enter into the house. Because this shade resembles that of water, ghosts/spirits won’t be able to pass it. 

The Exorcist steps are steeper than they appear in the movie. Speaking of The Exorcist,its author William Peter Blatty, had written several books but was unsuccessful in getting them published. His first published novel, The Exorcist, was an instant best seller. 

So there you have it reader! That’s just some of the interesting things I learned while I visited Washington D.C.