Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Picture Books I’ve Read (And Enjoyed) Recently

Hello Readers!

As you already know Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. As of right now, they are on a bit of a break (until August), so I’m operating on my own here. 

This means that I’ll continue to post, but each week I will select my own topics. And the topic I’ve chosen this week is the top ten picture books I’ve read and enjoyed recently. 
If you didn’t know this, I absolutely love picture books! I love the simplicity of them, the beautiful artwork, and how the story is almost always contained in this single volume. 

And because I read A LOT of picture books, I figured I could easily share some of my recent faves. 



I Want My Hat Back by Jon Klassen.    While it isn’t exactly a newer book, it’s still one of my faves. I can’t help but laugh each and every time I read this book, and I’ve read it a lot.

The Grizzly Bear Who Lost His Grrrrr by Rob Biddulph                                                       I recently stumbled upon this book about a bear, who just happens to be the champion of the woodland games, until the day that his Grrrrr is suddenly gone!

Seaver the Weaver by Paul Czajak          Seaver is a spider who weaves beautiful webs just like all of the other spiders. But Seaver’s webs are different … Differently shaped and sized. His webs stand out, and even though the other spiders give him grief over it, he eventually comes to realize that being different isn’t a Bad thing. 

Mother Bruce by Ryan T. Higgins             This book seriously mKes me laugh and laugh. It’s about a grumpy bear – Bruce – who somehow becomes the mother to three goslings. 

Miss Moon Wise Words From a Dog Governes by Janet Hill                           Simply put, I love this book because of the beautiful artwork. Don’t get me wrong the writing is outstanding, but those illustrations … 



Actual Size by Steve Jenkins                Thanks to bff Emma (you may know her as Miss Print for giving me a tip that this is a great book to read a lot. Not only do kids love it, but I do too. It’s full of interesting animal facts that are just unbelievably true! 

Leo: A Ghost Story by Mac Barnett           It’s a ghost story, what’s not to love! And this book isn’t just for Halloween! 

The Boy Who Cried Bigfoot by Scott Magoon                                                              It’s a retelling of the classic The Boy Who Cried Wold but with a funny twist of Bigfoot! 

Beyond the Pond by Joseph Kuefler              I love how this book is about discovery on so many levels. Main character Earnest is bored and decides to explore the depths of the pond outside his house. What he finds is truly amazing! 

Every Color by Erin Eitter Kono                       I loved the sweet story and the use of all the colors of the rainbow. Besides that I felt that this was a quiet book that will left a lasting impact 

Have you read any picture books lately? What were some of your faves? 

