Middle Grade Monday: Middle Grade Summer Reading List

Hello Readers!

One of my goals this year, as you may or may not already know, is to read more middle grade books. I realized recently that a) I don’t read nearly enough and b) because of that I feel that I may not be able to perform my job — it’s hard to recommend a book to a middle grade reader when you haven’t read any of them!

So I decided that I’m going to put together a little summer reading list for myself. While that list isn’t crazy long (it’s a total of four books), it’s a list filled with books I’ve wanted to read for a while.

My Middle Grade Summer Reading List Is…

The Warden’s Daughter by Jerry Spinelli

I’ve read many of Spinelli’s books, and I have loved each and every one of them. When I saw this book come into my library, I read a few pages over a lunch break, and was instantly hooked. I couldn’t start reading it at the moment because I was smack in the middle of another, but I promised myself I would read it this year.

The Warden’s Daughter is about a young girl named Cammie who lives at a prison with her warden father and the search for a new wife/mother.

The Lotterys Plus One by Emma Donoghue

When this book first came out, I heard a lot about it. Enough to make me curious enough to read the dust jacket. Enough to make me realize that I wanted to read this book.

The Lotterys Plus One is about a young girl named Sumac Lottery and her very large family.  Things may be crazy, but they are good. Until Sumac finds out that her cranky and ailing grandfather has to come live with them.

The Jumbies by Tracey Baptiste

A few years ago, thanks for a very good friend of mine, I became obsessed with Caribbean folklore. Specifically the jumbies.  So when I first hear of this book, I knew it was a book that I had to read. And besides that, I recently picked up the second book at this years Book Expo so I really want to read this one.

The Jumbies is about Corinne. Corrine is fearless, and doesn’t necessarily believe in the folktales that she’s grown up listening to. That is until one night, after being led into the woods, when she sees one of those folktales – a jumbie – in the flesh.

The Exact Location of Home by Kate Messner

The Exact Location of Home by Kate Messner is a recent addition to my “to read” list. I heard about this one just before this years Book Expo and after reading a synopsis decided that this was totally a “Nicole” book.

The Exact Location of Home is about Zig, and his belief that his mother is hiding a secret from him. After his dad cancels a visit, Zig sets out to find the real reason why he never showed up.

So there you have it! Those are the four (middle grade) books that I hope to read this summer. Are you hoping to read any middle grade books this summer? If so, please share!

Leave a Reply

