Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Book Dads

(Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke & The Bookish. The above image was taken and created by me for the purpose of this post.)

Hello Readers!

Today’s topic is all about the dads! But I’m going to add a bit of a twist. I’m going to list a few of my fave book dads first, and some of my least fave dads.

The Good:

The Hate U Give Ι Angie Thomas

I personally loved Star’s dad. He was definitely tough, through and through, but he loved his family unconditionally.

Wild Swans Ι Jessica Spotswood

Okay, so this isn’t about a dad, but rather a granddad. While Ivy’s granddad was tough on her, he did love her. He was there for her when her parents weren’t. And even though it was hard to see, he supported Ivy whole-heartedly.

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before Ι Jenny Han

Lara Jean’s father is awesome! It’s been a long time since I’ve read this book, but the one thing I really remember is how much I liked him. He was simply a good dad, one who loved his girls to the moon and back. I also loved the relationship between him and his daughters.

The Not So Good:

I Hunt Killers Ι Barry Lyga

Jasper Dent’s father is a convicted serial killer.  But even though he wasn’t a great dad, he does manage to teach Jasper more than the family business. He teaches Jasper about who he is and who he wants to be.

All in Pieces Ι Suzanne Young

I read young’s book in one sitting late one night while I couldn’t sleep. It was a gripping novel with a main character, Savvy, that I truly loved and sympathized for. But one character I didn’t like was her father. He was just … mean.

The Serpent King Ι Jeff Zentner

Dill’s dad is just … crazy. Enough said.

(All the cover images from Goodreads)

Leave a Reply

