Do You Believe in Ghosts?

Hello Readers!

Welcome to my very first Freebie Friday post! Today, I’m sharing with you a short story of sorts. Before jumping into it, I want to offer a brief explanation.

As you may (or may not) know I am an aspiring writer. But writing comes in waves for me. Sometimes I can write and write and writer. And then there are the dry spell that lasts months upon months.

I always says that I’m going to write more, and than don’t. But than I remembered what one of my fave authors said to me when I met her. She said it’s not about the big goals, but the small goals. Keeping that in mind, while wondering around a Barnes and Noble with a friend I stumbled upon a book of writing prompts called “Complete the Story” . On a whim I bought it, and have found that I’m really enjoying this book.

So today, I’m going to share with you the story I wrote. Please note, that these prompts do have titles. or offer characters name, it simply offers a few sentences. So the title, the character names, and the main plot are all me.

The prompt: “Do you believe in ghosts? he asked her. He made it sound like a statement, not a question. She stayed quiet, hoping he’d continue on his own , and after a few moments, he said … ”

“A Ghost Story”

“Do you believe in ghosts?” he asked her. He made it sound like a statement, not a question. She stayed quiet, hoping he’d continue on his own, and after a few moments, he said “because I do.” Reed sounding serious, too serious for Ava. She had never heard him talk about things like this.

“Why do you believe in ghosts?” Ava asked, not really sure as to how to respond to his chilling omission.  Plainly, Reed answered “Because I saw one.”

He had to be joking. Pulling her leg. Teasing her because he knew that she was afraid of nearly everything. Black cats sent chills up and down her spine. She was sixteen and still slept with a princess nightlight, in hopes that she’ll be about to see the boogeyman before he gobbles her up in her sleep.  “I don’t believe you,” she said, even though a part of her did. Reed was so earnest, it was hard NOT to believe him. “Ghosts aren’t real,” she said, almost challenging him.

“You don’t believe me?” he asked incredulously. ” I’ll prove it.”

“How?”

“I’ll take you there?”

“Where is there?” she questioned, confused.

“To the house on the frozen lake where I saw it.” He held out his hand. It was a bitterly cold day, but her palms were sweating. So much so that she was too aware of it.  She hesitantly took it, questioning whether or not she trusted Reed, truly and completely trusted him. But the moment  their palms met, she knew the answer: she did.

Up the forgotten dirt road, through a scarce forest of dead or decaying trees, they walked to the forgotten lake.  Within a few short minutes, they stood in front of the lake, just across from the house.  Ava stared across to the rickety, abandoned house where only mice and moths resided.  And the supposed ghost.

“So where’s the ghost?” Ava asked Reed.

“Look at the top right window. The only one with curtains. See it?”

She did see it.  She waited for something to happen, gripping Reeds hand as tight as her numb fingers would allow. She was just about to call his bluff when the curtain parted and revealed the ghost.

The ghost that looked frighteningly like Reed.

