Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Wish Were Around When I Was in High School

securedownload

(The above image was taken and altered by me for the purpose of this post. Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.)

Hello Readers!

Admittedly, I didn’t read a whole lot – for pleasure that is – while in high school. I basically read what I had to read. As an avid reader now, it always surprises people to find that I wasn’t always the reader I am now. I attribute that to the fact that there simply weren’t a ton of books that I actually wanted to read back in the late nineties.

What I did read were books like Fear Street, a few books by Poppy Z. Bright (my fave was a biography about Courtney Love), and whatever was assigned to me for school. Being the avid reader I am now, I truly wish there were books I read and love now around back them.

Specifically I wish these books were around:

img_4852

Wild Swans Ι Jessica Spotswood

Dreamland Social Club Ι Tara Altebrando

Dumplin’ Ι Julie Murphy

Since You’ve Been Gone Ι Morgan Matson

We Were Liars Ι E. Lockhart

Eleanor & Park Ι Rainbow Rowell

If I Stay Ι Gayle Forman

The Perks of Being a Wallflower Ι Stephen Chbosky

Shine Ι Lauren Myracle

Wintergirls Ι Laurie Halse Anderson

The books on this list are on here for one reason or another. Some are on here because I feel that, after reading, as much as I appreciate them now, I would have appreciated them even more as a teen because they would have shown me that things and people aren’t always what they seem to be, they would have helped me understand that you won’t always be who you were in high school. And still there are some books on this list that were just so good I just had to include them, because high school Nicole would love them just as much as now adult Nicole does.

What books do you wish were around when you were in high school readers?

Leave a Reply

