Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life Celebration: Gilmore Girls: Currently Reading

gilmoregirls

Hello Readers!

And welcome to another guest post. Today I’m hosting someone who is no stranger to me or to this blog. Can you guess who?

Well, if you guessed fellow blogger and in real life bff Emma/Miss Print than you guessed right! I’m so glad that Emma found some time in a her (busy) schedule to create this post, because this post is seriously awesome!

Take it away, Emma!

It’s hard to top a Girlmore Girls Read-a-Likes list but I knew I wanted to do something fun for Nicole’s amazing celebration of the Gilmore Girls revival. Since I’ve already covered books to read if you’re a fan of the series, I decided this time around that I would recommend some books for some of my favorite Gilmore Girls characters.
Lorelai Gilmore is a bit of a free spirit despite settling down to run the Dragonfly Inn. She has a wild past, a strong moral compass, and she definitely learns by doing (even if that means she makes some mistakes along the way. If Lorelai came to me for book recommendations I’d give her: Graffiti Moon by Cath Crowley, Steal Like An Artist: 10 Things Nobody Told You About Being Creative by Austin Kleon, Boss Babes: A Coloring and Activity Book for Grown-Ups by Michelle Volansky
lorelaibks
Rory Gilmore is probably already bogged down with reading–likely weighty non-fiction, classics, and some research for her job which I assume involves covering the Clinton campaign. That said, if she had time to read for fun, I think Rory would love: The Last Time We Were Us by Leah Konen, Ten Days A Madwoman The Daring Life and Turbulent Times of the Original “girl” Reporter Nellie Bly by Deborah Noyes, Uncommon Grounds: The History of Coffee and How It Transformed Our World by Mark Pendergrast
rorybks
Emily Gilmore was the consummate debutante as a young woman and social hierarchies have always mattered to her. That said, Emily has mellowed a lot thanks to Rory and Loralei so I think she’d enjoy these books that turn various aspects of polite society upside down: Beauty Queens by Libba Bray; She-Wolves: The Women Who Ruled England Before Elizabeth by Helen Castor; My Lady Jane by Brodi Ashton, Cynthia Hand, Jodi Meadows
emilybks
Luke Danes is a man who plays his cards close to his vest. I can’t imagine him asking for book recommendations. Luke tends to be very practical so my first instinct was all non-fiction and dry texts. But since Luke wouldn’t admit it one way or the other, I think he’d probably like to kick back with some thick fantasy novels. If I lived in Stars Hollow I might try to leave these lying around his diner for him to find (and hopefully read): American Gods by Neil Gaiman, Hounded by Kevin Hearne, Vicious by V. E. Schwab
lukebks
Lane Kim always wanted to be a wild child but her rebellions were small and stealthy to avoid friction with the inimitable Mrs. Kim. Now that Lane is married with children of her own, she would definitely want some books to remind her of her (almost) misspent youth: Enter Title Here by Rahul Kanakia, This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales, M Train by Patti Smith
lanebks
Sookie St. James is the peanut butter to Lorelei’s jam as her best friend and business partner. Sookie maintains a perpetually cheery outlook and is passionate about food–especially baking–so her her books practically chose themselves: The Four & Twenty Blackbirds Pie Book: Uncommon Recipes from the Celebrated Brooklyn Pie Shop by Emily Elsen and Melissa Elsen, Julie and Julia: My Year of Cooking Dangerously by Julie Powell, To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han
sookiebks
Kirk Gleason is the resident jack of all trades in Stars Hollow. Given his checkered job history, it’s safe to say that Kirk’s reading tastes would be eclectic including a variety of things like Careers The Graphic Guide to Finding the Perfect Job for You, The Talented Mr. Ripley by Patricia Highsmith, The Marvels by Brian Selznick
kirkbks
Jess Mariano is one of my favorite Gilmore Girls characters so of course I had to include him here. Jess first arrives in Stars Hollow as a rebel without a clue but fans see him grow as he starts to build relationships with his uncle Luke and, of course, with Rory. As an aspiring author and generally creative soul, I’d love to hand Jess Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo, The Hero Is You: Sharpen Your Focus, Conquer Your Demons, and Become the Writer You Were Born to Be by Kendra Levin, Vincent and Theo: The Van Gogh Brothers by Deborah Heiligman (this last one is cheating because it’s not out until Apr 18, 2017 but I feel like Jess is cool enough to have some publishing connections to get an ARC)
jessbks
Paris Geller is the perfect foil to Rory as she alternates between a bitter rival and a best friend. Paris puts a lot of pressure on herself to be the best of all things (and let’s face it, she’s totally obsessed with Hamilton) so I think she’d get a lot out of these titles: The Queen of Blood by Sarah Beth Durst, This Raging Light by Estelle Laure, Hamilton: The Revolution by Lin-Manuel Miranda and Jeremy McCarter
parisbks
So now you know what books I’d give to some of my favorite Gilmore Girls characters. Thanks again to Nicole for putting together this celebration and letting me contribute!
***
A big THANK YOU to Emma for taking time out of her (busy) schedule and creating this post! For more information about Emma and her block, check her out at Miss Print!
Posted in: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

