Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life Celebration: Rory’s Instagram, Then & Now

gilmoregirls

Hello Readers!

As you know, I reach out extensively to friends and fellow bloggers to see if any of them were interested in doing a guest post for this month long feature. While I did not get an overwhelming response, the responses I did get were great!

Today, I’m very happy to introduce our second guest blogger! Melissa comes to us from Live Love Read YA. And today she’s put together, not only an awesome post, but one that’s quite unique!

Take it away, Melissa!

***

When I found out Nicole was hosting the Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life Celebration I knew I had to sign up! Now I will admit though I’m not a super fan, but I did watch from the very beginning somewhat consistently for the first 5 seasons. Like everyone else, I did binge all 7 seasons in preparation for the new episodes and it made me realize I did love this show. Now I can’t tell you which team I’m on, but I am so glad Luke and Lorelai were together in the end.

For my post, I wondered what it would be like if Rory had Instagram since it’s a popular social media platform.  Nicole also suggested including what her Instagram account would look like if it existed when Rory was in high school.

In my opinion I think Rory wouldn’t be a frequent poster as she’s always been focused on school to bother using social media. This is why for her “Then” Instagram it showcases important moments throughout her life. I don’t think she would be a “selfie” much either, so many of the photos of Rory would probably come from handing off her camera to someone else to document the moment.

rg-ig-then1If Rory is using Instagram now, again I don’t think she would post as much, but perhaps more than if she were still in school.  In my opinion her Instagram account would be more food or sightseeing focused. I think she would give bookstagram a try, but then give up because it’s too time consuming for her busy NY life.

rg-ig-now

Since leaving Stars Hollow and moving to Brooklyn according to speculation, she would definitely try to find a local diner with a similar feel to Luke’s.  She would check out local bookstores and try a different restaurant every day.  Rory would definitely make trips into the city to visit Strand Book Store as often as she can and spend hours on the bottom floor with the rare books and collectibles. I think she’d also use that time in the city to see a Broadway show every now and then.

I hope you guys enjoyed my interpretation of Rory’s Instagram account!! Thank you Nicole for allowing me to participate in your celebration! I can’t wait for the new episodes and finally find out who Rory ends up with!

***

Want to know a bit more about Melissa?

Melissa is a 20 something year old blogger from Boston, MA. Fantasy is her favorite genre, but has opened up to other genres the last few years. Some favorite authors include Leigh Bardugo, Susan Dennard, Kristin Cashore, Alexandra Bracken, and Rick Riordan. She fangirls over all things Sailor Moon, Doctor Who, Disney, Studio Ghibli, and Marvel.

Website: http://livelovereadya.wordpress.com
Twitter: www.twitter.com/miss_melissalee
Instagram: www.instagram/miss_melissalee

A big THANK YOU to Melissa for taking time out of her own blog schedule to create and participate in this celebration!

Posted in: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

