Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Resolutions for 2016

securedownload

(The above image was taken and altered by me for the purpose of this posts. Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish)

Hello Readers!

I know I say this a lot … but it’s been forever since I’ve posted a Top Ten Tuesday post! Did you miss them? Cause I certainly did!

Now that it’s a new year I’ve decided to pick up where I left off.  And what better way to do that than post about my 2016 resolutions.

It’s a new year — one full of new books to be read, new authors to discover, and new possibilities to uncover.  Now, I normally do not make any resolutions. Why? Mainly because I fail to keep them and then feel really guilty about breaking them. But this year, I’m going to put my best foot forward and try my absolute hardest.

In no particular order, here are my top five 2016 resolutions ….

I will not pressure myself to read – Readers you may not know this about me, but I put a lot of pressure on myself when it comes to reading. I pressure myself to read more,  and end up getting frustrated which means I actually read less. I pressure myself to read faster, and end up having to backtrack because I didn’t comprehend something along the way. In 2016 I will NOT pressure myself. By pressuring myself I take the fun and the pleasure out of reading.And I refuse to let that happen in 2016. Reading is something I do for fun, and I fully intend to rediscover that in this new year.

I will be a better blogger – Not just for you, my dear readers, but for myself as well. In 2016 I resolve to review more books, to post more features, and to generally get back on track. In 2015 I feel as if I slacked, and I think it’s because (after a lot of thought)  I felt as if I wasn’t a good blogger, as if I wasn’t good enough to fit into this community. Because of that, my blogging confidence kind of went down the tubes. But I’m going to do my best. For both you and me!

I will step outside of my reading comfort zone – I tend to stay within my reading comfort zone (I know I’m not alone in this). But in 2016 I will read at least  four books (I know, I know four books isn’t a lot, but it’s a start!) that are not within my comfort zone.

I will read a lot of the books I’ve been meaning to get around to – we all have those books that we’ve been “meaning” to get around to. And to be quite honest, I have a lot of them. I plan on to read as many as I possibly can in 2016. Why? Not only if I read them I can discover my new favorite book, but I can make room for new books on my shelves.

I will utilize GoodReads and all that it offers – I love Goodreads, but I’m a terrible GoodReads user to be honest. I always forget to update my status, and with that, forget to take notes about what I’m reading (I think taking notes will definitely help improve my reviewing skills). And I resolve to not set an unrealistic reading goal for myself (like I do every other year.) I know this will make Miss Print proud!

I will post  more picture book review  – Way back when I had a book of the week feature. It was weekly feature  where I discussed a specific picture book and shared what I loved/liked/enjoyed about it. I can’t say why I stopped exactly, but I just did. And it’s a feature I miss. Especially since I read a ton of picture books, and have so many thoughts/feelings about them. So instead of bringing back my book of the week feature, I’ve decided to actually review some picture books.

So there you have it dear readers, those are my top resolutions. And even though there aren’t ten of them, I think the five I posted are solid. What are your bookish resolutions this year, dear readers! Please share, I’d love to know!

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Resolutions for 2016

  1. missprint says:

    Yes to all that! I can’t wait to see what picture books you choose to highlight. It will also be much easier to stealthily shop once I know that your goodreads is up to date 🙂

Leave a Reply

