Lists Galore (#1)

IMG_1788

(Image from My Future Listography by Lisa Nola)

Hello Readers!

Today is my first official My Future Listogrphy post! And I am so super excited! Seriously, I’ve been waiting all week to share this list with you!

Today’s topic – which I chose as random by flipping through my physical copy of this book – is:

List things You’d Love to Learn How to Make With Your Own Two Hand

(Please note, this list is in no particular order)

My grandmother’s “famous” cake.  Many, many years before I was born, my grandmother discovered a recipe in a magazine, much like many women. It was a recipe for a chocolate cake, but not just any chocolate cake. It was a recipe for a chocolate cake with a cream cheese center and topped with homemade chocolate frosting (my mouth is watering just thinking about it!) She made it for someone’s birthday and ever since then it has been my family’s go to birthday cake. And it is my favorite cake … ever!  This is a cake that, not only do I want to learn how to make, but need to learn. And not just because it’s my favorite but because it’s a part of my family and our history.

A knit scarf. I love crafting. But admittedly I am not great at it. One of the craftier things I’ve wanted to learn to do for quite some time is to learn how to knit.  I tried years ago but failed miserably (this was way before the days of YouTube). I never really attempted again. But since trying (and failing) I’ve had it stuck in my brain that one day I am going to make a chunky knit scarf (in black and white!).

A flower garden. Like knitting, gardening just isn’t my thing. I do not have a green thumb. In fact, I so much as glance at a potted plant and it practically shrivels up and dies instantaneously.  But the interest to plant, grow, and care for plant life is there. And because of this I’m convinced that one day I will be able to grow and cultivate (with my own two hands) my own little flower garden.

A book. I don’t know if this counts, but since I’d be writing said book with my two hands I figured I would include it. Yes, dear readers, if you haven’t guessed by now, I am an aspiring writer. And I can’t help be dream about the day when my work in progress is completely created.

A Thanksgiving Feast. It really isn’t a secret: I am not a domestic goddess. I’m lucky I can make an egg without setting fire to my house.  But I have dreams of moving out of my parents house and hosting my very first Thanksgiving for my friends and family and making a feast for them …. a feast from scratch. From the turkey to all the trimmings. Again, the interest is there but the ability … not so much.

I know that’s a short list. But these are seriously the things that I’d like to learn how to do at some point in my life.

What things would you like to learn to make with your hands, dear readers? Please share! I’d love to hear all about it!

Leave a Reply

