SBPT Tour with Emily from Emily Reads Everything

SBPT15 MEME

Hello Readers!

Happy Sunday! As part of the Summer Blogger Promo Tour hosted by The Book Bratz, (Thank You ladies!) today I am so excited to be featuring Emily from Emily Reads Everything! When we chatted, we decided that it would both be fun and informative to talk about fave books that we feel don’t get enough attention.

***

Hi Everyone! I’m Emily from www.EmilyReadsEverything.com. Thanks to Nikki for having me come post on her blog today as part of the Book Bratz’s Summer Blogger Promo Tour. Nikki asked me to post about a book that I really love.  We both love horror so I chose a psychological thriller to tell you about today.

12389135

Title: Before I Go to Sleep

Author: S. J. Watson

Synopsis

As I sleep, my mind will erase everything I did today. I will wake up tomorrow as I did this morning. Thinking I’m still a child, thinking I have a whole lifetime of choice ahead of me…

Memories define us. So what if you lost yours every time you went to sleep? Your name, your identity, your past, even the people you love–all forgotten overnight. And the one person you trust may only be telling you half the story.

Welcome to Christine’s life.

Thoughts:

This book was so scary!

Every day Christine wakes up with no knowledge of the past 18 years. She still thinks she is 25 years old. She doesn’t remember her house, her husband or her life. Instead, her husband, Ben, recreates her life for her by reminding her of the past. This goes on until she realizes she has been keeping her own journal and things Ben has told her don’t quite line up.

I love books with unreliable narration and this fits Christine to a T. She can’t be expected to tell the truth if she doesn’t know what it is! There is something so terrifying about the thought that the person you should be able to trust most in the world is lying to you. Christine relies on Ben and what other people tell her 100% and she is absolutely helpless if they aren’t being honest with her.  There’s an edge of mystery in this book. You never know what is really going on or who is telling the truth. If you liked Gone Girl, this is a must read!

***

I have chills just reading this recap!  For more information about Emily and all the books she loves, make sure to check out her blog! And a big THANK YOU to Emily for putting this post together!

Posted in: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

