SBPT Tour with Victoria from The Petite Book Blogger

SBPT15 MEME

(The above image was created by Dana from Dana Square for the SBPT meme. Thanks Dana for the awesome image!)

Hello Readers!

A new Sunday brings a new Summer Blogger Promo Tour post. This week I am featuring Victoria from The Petite Book Blogger.  And she’s put together a really great post, one that I think you guys are going to really enjoy.

***

For my Booklovers Cruise I will be visiting the Baltic capitals. For those who don’t know the Booklovers Cruise is  a tag that  Nicole and I created. You look up a cruise, pick your travel package and depending countries and/or cities that you will visit on the cruise you have to tell us about what books you would read. Okay, for those who know me the likelihood that I would actually go on a cruise is slim to none. After my second grade English teacher made us watch the Titanic I swore that I would never set foot on a boat (I still have no idea why she thought that the way to teach us about the Titanic was by watching the film).  I would definitely like to visit all of the following countries some time in the near future but, alas I can only visit them in books right now *sigh*. Although I’m not going to wait until I visit these countries to read my picks. Enough of my rambling and let’s get on with the guest post!

Copenhagen, Denmark – The Complete Hans Christian Andersen fairy tales

I have never read the original fairy tales before ,don’t ask me why and if you want you can blame my parents. This was the only book that I could think of that wasn’t a murder mystery since I had already read the other two YA  books set in Denmark curse my thoroughness * shakes fist in air* . I would also never read a murder mystery book on a vacation while I’m in the country that the book is set in.  I think that it would freak me out too much!  Also wouldn’t it be cool to be able to read the original “The Little Mermaid” right in front of the statue?!

Berlin, Germany – Prisoner of Night and Fog by Anne Blankman

Alright I’ve been wanting to read this book forever and some jerk at my library has continually renewed this book for SIX MONTHS!! I don’t know what’s worse that the waiting list consists of eighty nine people or that I don’t have enough shelf space on my bookshelves to buy it. Hopefully by the time I get to Germany I will have that book in my possession.

Tallinn, Estonia – Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys

I know, I know “Between Shades of Gray” isn’t set in Estonia. I have a legitimate reason for choosing this book though. I searched everywhere trying to find a young-adult book set in Estonia and there aren’t any out there! So dear authors please write some YA books set in Estonia. I have no idea what Between Shades of Gray is about. To tell you the truth when I first saw this book I thought that it was part of that horrible “Fifty Shades of Gray Trilogy. So, yeah……

St. Petersburg, Russia – Blood Red, Snow White by Marcus Sedwick

This is the story of a English journalist who is in Russia collecting fairytales. That’s all I know and can I just say that it’s refreshing to be able to read a YA book set in Russia that isn’t about Anastasia.

Helsinki, Finland & Stockholm Sweden – North End by Laura Lahteenmak

North End is a Finnish Young Adult dystopian that is set fifty years in the future. What makes this book really stand out as a dystopian is the premise of this book. Instead of there being a war or there being an oppressive ruler the world has run out of natural resources. So in order to survive they have to recycle everything. People have become watchdogs and are very diligent in making sure that other people are following the rules. I’m not to sure but from what I understand it also feature some of today’s Swedish nobility which I thought was interesting to see in a dystopian. Since we never get to see what happens to other countries in dystopian literature.

Thank you so much for having me today on your blog!

***

No Victoria, THANK YOU! Seriously this was one of the most fun posts I have worked on, and I hope you had fun putting your Booklovers Cruise post together as well! For more information about Victoria and her blog, The Petite Book Blogger, be sure to check her out online.

Posted in: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

