Between Us and the Moon

Between Us and the Moon by Rebecca Maizel (advanced e-ARC from publisher via Edelweiss)

20807316

When Bean’s boyfriend breaks up with her unexpectedly, it seems as if her whole world has been shattered into a million little pieces. For the first time, Bean truly feels alone. As summer fast approaches, Bean decides the best way to get over that loser is to throw herself into the tracking the progression of an oncoming comet.  And the Cape is the perfect place to track it.

But the comet isn’t the distraction she needs. Instead, she thinks up a new experiment to focus on. An experiment that won’t only lead her to the kind of person she wants to be, but one that leads to nineteen year old Andrew.

Andrew is the kind of guy Bean has always wanted, but never thought she could land on her own. He’s smart, he’s funny, and best of all he seems to see who she is from the inside out.  But the only thing he doesn’t see is just how young really Bean is.

Her one little lie seems to have snowballed into an almost uncontrollable situation. One that, if exposed, can ruin everything she has worked so hard for. But more than that, one that could possibly ruin the life of someone she has fallen head over heels in love with.

Through all the wrongs, Bean will finally finds the person she longs to be. But will she be brave enough to right all the wrongs that she has set into motion?

Offering promises of summer love and self discovery, Between Us and the Moon is a debut contemporary written by author Rebecca Maizel.

The writing that fills Between Us and the Moon is strong. In fact, it was the reason which kept me reading. I really enjoyed the picture that author Maizel painted in my mind’s eye. The backdrop in which this book was set – Cape Cop – was lush, and the characters were vividly realistic.  Maizel’s writing kept me invested – not only in the outcome of the story, but also the evolution of her main character.

Beyond the writing I seriously enjoyed all the science that was featured within the pages of Between Us and the Moon. So much so, that I actually found myself wishing for more.  And still, I loved how the progression of the comet mirrored the progression of main character Bean.

Speaking of main character Bean, I honestly didn’t love her. There were moments when I was fully on her side, rooting for her to truly follow her heart and be honest. But then there were other moments where I simply wanted to shake some sense into her in hopes of making her see the errors of her ways.  But my biggest issue taken with Bean was the fact that she was so blind the repercussions of her actions, and how those actions wouldn’t just affect her life, but the people in her life – the people she supposedly cares about.

Between Us and the Moon was a book that I personally was super excited about.  But as I read, I consistently felt let down. I had many issues with this book, issues that I simply could not overlook. It truly bothered me that Bean couldn’t just be the smart girl, who relied on her brains to land the guy.  Instead, she strived to be someone she was not by using her body and her girlish charms.

The other issue I had with this book was the competition between main character Bean and her older sister Scarlett. I felt that the competition was something made up in Bean’s head, and was used to fuel her own, often selfish motives.  To me, as a reader Scarlett came off as a typical older sibling.

Between Us and the Moon was a book that I wanted to love. I wanted to be swept up and away with the summer romance, instead it frustrated me. But just because it was not my kind of book, it doesn’t mean that it will not be yours, dear reader. I truly hope you will read this book, and share you thoughts/feelings with me!

(The above image from GoodReads)

Leave a Reply

