March Recap

Hello Readers!

MarchReadingChallenge

At the beginning of the month (March) I challenged myself to read a total of five books. Those five books were:

The Start of Me and You by Emery Lord

Between Us and the Moon by Rebecca Maizel

Things We Know by Heart by Jessi Kirby

Drive Me Crazy by Terra Elan McVoy

After the Kiss by Terra Elan McVoy

Honestly, March started off with a BANG! I read three books within the first two weeks or so. I kicked off March by reading an e-galley of Drive Me Crazy, a middle grade debut written by YA author Terra Elan McVoy. I don’t want to say much, but I will say this: I literally read this in one sitting!

From there I moved onto a debut I was really looking forward to. The plot sounded original, the cover is beautiful, and it felt like a book suited to escape the cold snap that New Jersey was experiencing. Between Us and the Moon by Rebecca Maizel was a book I was super excited to read. But after reading my excitement unfortunately faded. I did have some issues with this book, but they are issues I’m saving for my upcoming review … so stay tuned.

After Between Us and the Moon I moved on to a book I knew would have all the feels — Jessi Kirby’s upcoming Things We Know By Heart. Seriously, I think I had tears in my eyes by page two!

By week three my reading had slowed. I meant to start Emery Lord’s The Start of Me and You, bu I decided that I wanted to read After the Kiss before jumping into this highly anticipated second novel. Turns out I never really got to either of them. Instead I read a middle grade graphic, Roller Girl by Victoria Jamieson.

It’s a graphic novel all about roller derby. Not something I have ever participated in but something I have a high interest in. I really enjoyed this one. And am excited to share my thoughts/feelings about it soon!

So I didn’t read the five books I had challenged myself to. But I did read a total of four books, which I’m quite happy with. All were books that I have taken something away from, and all were books that left some sort of impression on me.

One thought on “March Recap

  1. missprint says:

    I only read about that many myself with a couple of DNFs and power reads (skims) in the mix. Plus two that are carrying over to April. So it goes!

Leave a Reply

