I Hunt Killers (Jasper Dent #1)

I Hunt Killers (Jasper Dent #1) by Barry Lyga

7766027

When a dead body turns up, limp and with a dismembered hand, within the city limits of Lobo’s Nob, all suspicions turn to Jasper “Jazz” Dent.
As the son of Lobo’s Nob most notorious resident, Billy Dent, the serial killer who stalked and ultimately killed hundreds of victims, it’s only logical that Jazz follow in dear old dad’s footsteps.
But Jazz doesn’t want to live that life, and in order to clear his name he knows he must prove himself. Not just to the residents of his small town, but to himself. So when the bodies start piling up Jazz works his way into the investigation – helping the police figure out the what, the why, and most importantly the who.
Piecing the puzzle together, Jazz suddenly realizes that, not only is his town in danger, but he is as well. What’s Jazz to do when he realized that he is the next victim on this copy cat’s hit list? Will Jazz confront his worst fears, or will his succumb to them?
I Hunt Killers, written by author Barry Lyga, is book one in the Jasper Dent trilogy. And it’s one twisted mystery that will leave readers reeling for more, and just the slightest bit grossed out … and I mean that in the best way possible.
Lyga’s writing is top-notch. And it’s what truly makes this book what it is. The give and pull between good and evil is palpable. So much so, that readers will continually question what’s good, what’s evil, and the fine line that lies somewhere in between the two.
What made I Hunt Killers such an awesome book, in my opinion, is main character Jasper. Jasper is unlike any character I have ever met before. He’s real and he’s flawed. And even though reader’s don’t know if Jasper will or will not end up like dear old dad, readers will root for him.
What makes Jasper such a realistic and relatable character is the fact that, deep down, readers get to see that he’s an average teenage guy. Like teenage guys today Jasper worries about the future and the life that lies ahead of him. He strives to impress his girlfriend. And he has a best friend that let’s him just be who he is … even if that is the son of a serial killer.
The mystery at the heart of I Hunt Killers is uncrackable. Personally, every theory and guess I harbored was off …. way off. Beyond the mystery, I truly loved how Lyga played with the notion of nature versus nurture. Was Jasper a product of the environment he lives, a normal society that holds him to a certain standard? Or is Jasper simply a product of his father, predestined to follow in dad’s footsteps? And not only will readers struggle with that notion, main character Jasper will too.
While I Hunt Killers wasn’t as fast paced as I had expected, the pacing of the book, for me as a reader, was spot on. Lyga took his time setting the scene, the mood, and the tone. And because of that the tension is taut, making it an even greater story.

Seriously, I could go on and on about I Hunt Killers. I love how it made me think and question. I loved the mystery. I loved main character Jazz. And I think that you too will love this book if you choose to pick it up. As much as I loved this book, I will say this: it’s not for the faint of heart or for the weak stomached.

Leave a Reply

