March Reading Challenge Update

MarchReadingChallenge

(The above image was created by me via PicMonkey)

Hello Readers,

I realized I haven’t posted an update about this month’s reading challenge. At the beginning of the month I challenged myself to read a total of five books. And those five books I wanted to read were:

The Start of Me and You by Emery Lord

Between Us and the Moon by Rebecca Maizel

Things We Know by Heart by Jessi Kirby

Drive Me Crazy by Terra Elan McVoy

After the Kiss by Terra Elan McVoy

To date, I read three of the five above mentioned titles. And honestly, I kind of can’t believe I read three books so far this month … and the month isn’t even over?!

I read Drive Me Crazy by Terra Elan McVoy in one sitting. I wouldn’t say I binge read this book, I read steadily because I was so absorbed in the story. Drive Me Crazy is a debut middle grade for this young adult author, and I wasn’t only pleasantly surprised, I was overwhelmingly in love with this book. And for me, a reader who struggles with middle grade fiction, is saying a lot.

From Drive Me Crazy I moved onto a book I was really looking forward to – Between Us and the Moon by Rebecca Maizel. Even though I wasn’t sure what to expect from this debut I was excited. But that excitement faded about somewhere midway through the book. I don’t want to get into why my excitement faded, because I will be reviewing this title, but I will say this: there was a lot I genuinely liked, but there was a lot I disliked.

After reading Between Us and the Moon I wanted a book that I held high expectations for – Things We Know by Heart by Jessi Kirby.

Last year I read Golden by Jessi Kirby and there was something about the writing that I just really, not only loved, but also felt some connection with. So I had a funny feeling I would love Things We Know by Heart even if it wrecked me emotionally.

Things We Know By Heart not only lived up to my expectations, it exceeded them. Seriously I can write paragraph after paragraph gushing about this book, but I won’t. Not yet at least – that’s what reviews are for, right?! I will say this: this book had ALL THE FEELS!

After reading Things We Know By Heart I had every intention to read Emery Lord’s upcoming novel The Start of Me and You. But I took a bit detour. I’ve been hearing a lot about this book called Mosquitoland written by David Arnold. It’s a book I didn’t know I wanted to read until I saw it in my library and had to scoop it up before anyone else could. So I checked it out and started reading Mosquitoland instead of The Start of Me and You.

I am enjoying Mosquitoland. But I’m only 71 pages into it so I have no concrete feelings just yet.

So it looks like, even though I may not get to read all the books I intended to read this month, that by that end of March I will have read four very solid books! And I’m happy about that.

So readers, what have you been reading and enjoying?

One thought on “March Reading Challenge Update

Leave a Reply

