Are You Up For The Challenge?!?

Hello Readers!

It’s a new year! And you know what that means, right? Not only does it mean new books, but it also means a new reading challenge. Whether it’s a challenge you set up for yourself or a challenge hosted by an outside source, a challenge is a challenge.

And this year, there are quite a few challenges floating around. For instance, Goodreads (for those of you who don’t know Goodreads is a social networking site dedicated to books and all their readers) allows all users to deem how many books they are going to read and set their own challenge. Besides that, a lot of great bloggers are hosting their own reading challenges that you can join in on.

Beyond Goodreads, like mentioned above, there are blogs aplenty hosting challenges. Sara from What Sarah Read and Kate from Literary Kate are teaming up with Epic Reads and hosting their own challenge called the 365 Days of YA.  Basically, Epic Reads created this nifty and very handy graphic detailing 365 great books! The graphic and challenge have been broken down by season, monthly, weekly, and even daily reads. But because of that, it makes this challenge all the more customizable to what you are the person partaking in the challenge wants!

Now if you are into fantasy you may be interested in the challenge that Alexa from Alexa Loves Books and Rachel from Hello, Chelly are hosting called Flights of Fantasy. Again, this is a challenge that is super customizable. It’s a year long challenge that dares it’s participants as many fantasy novels as you deem fit!

Besides these awesome challenges, there are other challenges out there to help you readers add more diverse reads into your reading world. Dive Into Diversity is a challenge hosted by two blogs – Reading Wishes and Rather Be Reading – which urges participants to, not only read diverse book through the year, but also to talk about these books.

All great challenges right?! So why am I not signing up for any of these?

Well the answer is quite simple. As the new year was rung in I sat back and thought about the last reading year. I read a lot of great books, but I hit a one too many reading bumps. Or rather, slumps. I put a lot of pressure on myself to read faster and to read more. But what I realized while I was trying to read faster and read more was that I was still putting off all the books I’ve wanted to read for a very long time.

So I set up my own challenge.

I challenged myself to not only put as much reading pressure on myself, but I promised myself I would get to as many backlist TBR books. And because of this, that is why I’ve committed myself to read four books per month, and with that, an array of books. If you wan to know more about that you can check out my post here.

Believe me readers, I really do want to participate in one of the many challenges out there. But what I want more, is to focus on the challenges I set for myself.

I want to wish all of you who are participating in reading challenges – whether their own or hosted by someone else – much success. With that, I hope you year ahead in books is a great one.

 

Posted in: Uncategorized

2 thoughts on “Are You Up For The Challenge?!?

  1. Brilliantly Novel says:

    There are a lot of challenges out there! I signed up for three this year and they all kind of overlap. I’m doing The Goodreads Reading Challenge (I pledged to read 50 books), The Finish the Series Challenge (I want to complete 7-10 unfinished series), and The 2015 Re-Read Challenge (I would like to re-read at least 12 books). Between these challenges and the book buying ban I plan to impose on myself, I think I’ll be able to knock quite a few books off of my TBR pile 🙂 Good luck with your challenge!

    • Nicole says:

      Wow! Three challenges! That’s awesome! Good luck with all of your challenges. I hope you meet all of your goals. And even more good luck wishes for your book buying ban! I tried that several times in the past but always end up buying more books ha ha.

      Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

