Reading Challenge Update: January Edition

ReadingChallengeUpdate

Hello Readers!

At the beginning of the month I shared with you my reading goals for the month of January. To recap I said I was going to read the following:

1. Read one New-ish Book: My True Love Gave to Me Edited by Stephanie Perkins

2. Read one ARC(Advanced Readers Copy): The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black

3. Read one Audiobook: The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

4. Read one backlist TBR Title: Stealing Heaven by Elizabeth Scott

Now that January is almost halfway over, I figured it was about time I give you guys an update.

Even though I am truly loving the collection of short stories that Stephanie Perkins edited, I have yet to finish it. At this point I have only 2 short stories left! So close, yet so far. You’re wondering why I haven’t finished this book yet?! I’m going to let you in on a little secret: I don’t do well with short story collections. And the reason why I don’t do will with them is because I tend to lose steam. Not interest, steam. And I think I lose steam simply because I am not a short story reader, therefore I am not used to them. Even though it’s taking some time I will finish My True Love Gave to Me! Not only because I’m determined, but because I’m absolutely loving it. It’s extremely difficult for me to tell you which story is my favorite, as they’ve all been great for different reasons. Even though I haven’t finished I can honestly say it’s going to be a holiday favorite for years and years to come!

I did start the audiobook edition of Maggie Stiefvater’s The Dream Thieves. But to be honest I started this one a few months back. The problem was I started and never finished. I know, that’s terrible. I just re-started this audiobook a few days ago, so I’m just a chapter two or so. And this time I fully intend on finishing it.

Going into this month’s reading challenge I took a look at my shelves and my Kindle bookshelf and seriously thought. I thought about what book has been lingering on my TBR list for quite a while. I decided that Stealing Heaven written by author Elizabeth Scott was the winner. I read this one on my Kindle, and I read it in only a few short days. I really enjoyed this one  – enjoyed it more than I had expected to. It made me wonder exactly why I waited so long to read it. It was extremely readable, the plot, though admittedly a wee bit predictable, was unique and refreshing, and the characters were memorable. But that’s all I’m going to say because a review is coming.

So that leaves the ARC of Holly Black’s upcoming The Darkest Part of the Forest. I had real intentions to read this book this month. Why? Because Holly Black is doing a few appearances in my area and I fully intend on being in the audience. But I’m not going to get to this one this month. And there’s a legit reason why. But I’m not one hundred percent certain I can share that reason here on the blog … just yet (stay tuned). The bottom line is I’m going to have to push this one back…sadly 😦

So that’s all I have for you readers. Have you met any of your monthly goals yet? If so, please share! And Happy Reading!

 

Leave a Reply

