Reading Challenge: January 2015 Edition

Hello Readers!

And Happy New Year!

A new year means a new reading challenge. This year, my goal is to read a total of 130 books – that a whopping 5 more books than my 2014 challenge!  With that, each month I’m going to be posting the four books I plan to read during the course of that month.

There are no hard and fast rules, simply to decide (which may be the hardest part of these monthly challenges) what books I’m going to read, read them, and track my progress here on the blog. Each month I’m going to read one new-ish book (a book that was published within a year or so), one ARC (advanced readers copy — since I have a lot hanging around), one audiobook (I need something to fill those drives to work), and one book that’s on my to be read list forever!

This month, these are the books I’m planning on reading:

1. My True Love Gave to Me edited by Stephanie Perkins (new-ish book)

2. The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black (ARC)

3. The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater (Audiobook)

4. Stealing Heaven by Elizabeth Scott (Backlist TBR)

JanuaryReadingChallenge

 

It is only January 2nd, but I figured even though I haven’t gotten into the nitty-gritty I figured I’d post a brief update.

First up, My True Love Gave to Me edited by Stephanie Perkins. I’m almost halfway done with this collection of holiday stories. Going into this I knew two things: I’m terrible when it comes to reading short stories and that this collection would be different from past collections I’ve read. I am thoroughly enjoying it. Though, it’s too early to tell exactly which short story is my fave.

Secondly, I’m about a quarter of the way done with my backlist TBR book Stealing Heaven by Elizabeth Scott. This book has been on my radar for some time … and it’s been on my kindle waiting to be read for even longer. So, during the early hours of New Year’s Day morning, when I couldn’t sleep (and didn’t want to turn on any lights as not to wake my parents) I decided to take out my kindle and read. I settled on Stealing Heaven. All I can say at this point is that, besides enjoying it, it’s extremely readable. I have a feeling that this is going to be a quick read.

Not a bad start for the new year!

What are your reading hopes/goals for this month or for this new year, readers?

2 thoughts on “Reading Challenge: January 2015 Edition

  1. missprint says:

    I like this format idea. I don’t make my monthly lists quite as concrete with categories. But maybe I should and will from now on.

    • Nicole says:

      I’m not 100% sure it’s going to try, but I’m going to try! I’m really trying to read a lot of the books I’ve wanted to read for some time but haven’t gotten around to in hopes of knocking titles off the TBR list.

Leave a Reply

