Monday Memories (#13)

Monday Memories is a super easy and super fun meme hosted byThe BookBandit and Miss Print. Participants are asked to post a picture of a book that holds a special place in their hearts, and talk briefly about why this book is so special. If you want to join in on the fun, link up and be sure to link back!

MondayMemoriesFinal

Hello Readers!

For today’s Monday Memories post I’m going to be talking about a book that I read simply because the publisher sent it to be for review. Going into this book I didn’t know much about it. I didn’t know much about the plot, the characters, or even if this was the kind of book I would enjoy. But something about it intrigued me. And I knew I had to read it.

That book is …

The Fire Horse Girl by Kay Honeyman

14746310

The reason why I am talking about this book today, and why it is so special to me is because I learned so much from it. The Fire Horse Girl talks about a period in history that I honestly don’t think I learned about during my schooling. It talks about the Asian immigration into San Francisco’s Angel Island.

Beyond the history lesson I got out of the book, I found that the main character, Jade Moon, was a really strong leading lady. She’s the kind of character I honestly feel that readers can, not only relate to, but look up to.

To say the least this book left a lasting impression. And for that reason, and the reasons mentioned above, The Fire Horse Girl is today’s Monday Memory.

Want to join in on the Monday Memories fun? Make sure to link up (below) and link back!

Note: Monday Memories, this weekly meme that Miss Print and I have been hosting for quite some time now will sadly be ending Monday, December 29th. After that date, this feature/meme will be inactive.

One thought on “Monday Memories (#13)

Leave a Reply

