12 Days of Christmas: Day 6 with Amanda from Of Spectacles and Books

Hello Readers!

Seriously, how are we one week away from Christmas? How is it even possible that I am no where near done with my Christmas shopping!? Well if you’re like me, and you’re rushing around to get the perfect gift for your many loved ones, Amanda from Of Spectacles and Books has you covered! Today, I’m so very excited to be hosting Amanda! Before jumping into this post a BIG THANK YOU to Amanda for participating in this little holiday feature! For more info about Amanda, be sure to check out her blog, Of Spectacles and Books!

DaySix

The Book:

If I were to give a gift to a friend, I would give them a book that has changed me so drastically that I was not the same after having read it. I would give them a book that will bring them to tears, tear their heart to shreds, and then mend it back up with threads of love and affection. I would give them a book that would in the end completely change their life. I would give them A Voice in the Wind by Francine Rivers.

a voice in the wind

I can’t tell you how many times I have given this book as a gift. Probably four times now, and the reason is because this is quite possibly the best and most life changing book I have ever read in my entire 25 years. It’s the first book in an astounding trilogy that goes through the life of a young girl sold into slavery during the height of the Roman Empire. It’s her journey through learning to live as a slave, falling in love, and learning to live by her ultimate call.

Summary:

The first book in the bestselling Mark of the Lion series, A Voice in the Wind brings readers back to the first century and introduces them to a character they will never forget—Hadassah. Torn by her love for a handsome aristocrat, this young slave girl clings to her faith in the living God for deliverance from the forces of decadent Rome. (Goodreads)

I have read my share of Christian fiction, and I don’t care for the Christian romance genre much, but I found this series and, more particularly, this book an absolutely, astoundingly beautiful story of strength, bravery, and courage in very dangerous historical city.

If I were giving this as a gift, I might also give these awesome gladiator sandals. I even want these! They’re über cute and stylish.

sandal

And then I might even get them this fun little Roman Colosseum desk clock.

clock

I just love this book so much, and after having read it five times and still loving it, I feel like I need to share this wonderful story with everyone I meet!

avitw collage

I hope you all have a wonderful holiday season!

One thought on “12 Days of Christmas: Day 6 with Amanda from Of Spectacles and Books

Leave a Reply

