Monday Memories (#11)

Monday Memories is a super easy and super fun meme hosted byThe BookBandit and Miss Print. Participants are asked to post a picture of a book that holds a special place in their hearts, and talk briefly about why this book is so special. If you want to join in on the fun, link up and be sure to link back!

MondayMemoriesFinal

Hello Readers!

On today’s menu I’m talking about a book that I read years and years ago. A book that really changed my opinion of the YA world. A book that has truly left a lasting impression.

And that book is:

46777

Tithe by Holly Black.

At this point in my life I hadn’t read a whole lot of young adult literature. Honestly, I don’t think I read any YA books up until this point. But because I was getting ready to go into grad school in the hopes of obtaining a degree in Library Science, I decided that I wanted to read more than what I was at that point. And I wanted to read differently. I didn’t want to just read the kind of books I was reading, I wanted to check out different genres for different age groups.

I’d been hearing a lot about young adult books, and I knew I wanted to check out these kinds of books. Why? Mainly because there really wasn’t YA when I was a teen – there was The Baby-Sitters Club, Sweet Valley High, and Fear Street.

So I went to the Hoboken Public Library, and entered the YA room at the top most floor. And for over an hour I meandered about picking up books and putting them back down. One of those books was Holly Black’s Tithe. The only difference between Tithe and the other books I picked up was that I didn’t put Tithe down. I checked it and the moment I got home I read it immediately. And I loved it!

Holly Black’s Tithe changed my opinion on what makes up a fairy tale. It made me see that even this high fantasy fearing reader isn’t so scary.

Tithe changed how I read, and what I read. And for this book will forever be one of my favorites!

So, what book is your Monday Memory readers? Link up and link back below!

2 thoughts on “Monday Memories (#11)

  1. Eden says:

    Tithe is definitely the fairy tale book that changed my view of fairy tale books forever. I read it as an older young adult and it made a really big impression on what I thought fantasy could be. Such a great story!

    • Nicole says:

      Honestly, I can’t tell you how long ago I read it. I was well into adulthood, and I absolutely adored it. It’s still a book I think about. Such a great story!

Leave a Reply

