Synchronized Reading Interview With Sarah Beth Durst

Hello Readers!

Today is a very special day here on the blog. Not only are both Miss Print and I both posting Chasing Power content as part of our week-long Synchronized Reading posts, but today I’m featuring an interview with the lady of the week – author Sarah Beth Durst!

I’ve hosted Sarah Beth Durst on the blog previously, but today she’s here to discuss her latest and greatest book, Chasing Power.  Not only does she offer insight, but she also answers some of my burning questions.

Don’t forget to stop by Miss Print’s blog to read her part of the interview that was posted yesterday. It won’t disappoint you, I promise!

DURST_AuthorPhoto_HighRes-2BookBandit Blog (BB): What was the inspiration behind Chasing Power?

Sarah Beth Durst (SBD): Telekinesis.

This is probably the first book I’ve written that has a single word inspiration.  (And now I kind of want to write another book based on a single word, just to say I did.  Like rutabaga.  Or narwhals.)  Anyway, I’ve always been fascinated by telekinesis.  I remember watching “Escape to Witch Mountain ” over and over as a kid and wishing that I could move things with my mind.

The key bit of inspiration for CHASING POWER — the thing that transformed it from a vague idea to an actual story — was the decision that Kayla’s power would be very, very limited.  She can only move very light things.  So she has to be clever.  Especially when things get dangerous…

BB: What was the most difficult part of writing Chasing Power?

SBD: In CHASING POWER, Kayla meets a boy who can teleport and who needs her help to save his kidnapped mother.  One of the most difficult parts was choosing which places to go to.  I wanted to go all the places and do all the things!!!  But I had to narrow it down to my favorites.

Sometimes choosing what not to put in a story can be just as difficult as choosing what to put in.  You start with an idea, and everything and anything is possible, but very quickly, you have to begin making decisions.  And for everything you decide to do, there are thousands of things you have just decided not to do.  Not unlike life, actually.

BB: If you could teleport to any place, where would you teleport to and why?

SBD: I’d use it to visit friends and family.  Everyone is so sprawled out.  It would be so wonderful to bop around and just have lunch with an old friend here and dinner with another there.

I would also like to visit Antarctica and see one of those massive groups of emperor penguins (which a very quick Google search says is called a “waddle”).  And I want to visit New Zealand.  It looks so gorgeous.  And go on a safari in Africa.  And see the top of Mount Everest without having to climb it.

BB: Of all the things Kayla could de being telekinetic, why have her be a master thief?

SBD: I’d love to tell you some deep, psychological reason, but honestly it was the most fun to write.  Figuring out how to rob a jewelry store when your only ability is to scoot a ball of tinfoil across the street…  Very fun.

BB: Can fans expect to see Kayla and Daniel in any upcoming projects?

SBD: CHASING POWER was written as a standalone (though I do admit that I miss Kayla and especially Selena!).  My next book is THE GIRL WHO COULD NOT DREAM, a middle-grade novel coming from HMH/Clarion Books in fall 2015.  It’s about a girl whose family owns a secret store where they buy, bottle, and sell dreams, but who can’t have any of her own, and the adventure that she and her pet monster go on when someone starts kidnapping dreamers.  I’m really, really excited about it!

* * *

A very big THANK YOU to Sarah Beth Durst for taking the time out of her busy schedule to answer a few questions and for being a part of the Synchronized Reading Miss Print and I are doing.

For more information about Sarah Beth Durst and all of her books, check out her website! And to follow all the synchronized reading fun, head over to Miss Print’s blog!

Leave a Reply

