Monday Memories (#9)

Monday Memories is a super easy and super fun meme hosted by The BookBandit and Miss Print. Participants are asked to post a picture of a book that holds a special place in their hearts, and talk briefly about why this book is so special. If you want to join in on the fun, link up and be sure to link back!

MondayMemoriesFinal

Hello Readers!

It’s another Monday Memories post here on The BookBandit Blog and I’m talking about a new memory today. This past weekend, if you didn’t know, I was lucky enough to go to Yallfest – the Young Adult book festival in Charleston, South Carolina – with one of my closest friends Dee.  There were a ton of fabulous authors, many of which I had the chance to meet and chat with.

Today I’m going to be talking about a book that I picked up this weekend at Yallfest. It’s a book that I wanted to read since it’s release, but have yet to get around to. That book is:

Popular

Popular: Vintage Wisdom for a Modern Geek by Maya Van Wagenen

This book is memorable to me because I had the chance to, not only meet this fresh-faced author, but I also had the chance to have her sign my copy – twice!

You see, I bought this book at the bookstore – Blue Bicycle Books – that was hosting Yallfest. But when I bought this book it was already pre-signed. Admittedly, this really bothered me because I was totally planning on hopping on Maya’s line and waiting with book in hand for my chance to meet her and have her sign my book.  And being that it was already signed put a real hitch in my plans. But I didn’t let it stop me. I bought the book and headed to the signing line.

While waiting I hatched a brilliant (if I do say so myself) plan: I would ask Maya if she would sign a page within the book on or around the entry of my birthday – March 19th. Maya thought this was a really great idea and was very kind to sign there instead of on the normal title page.

I had a really great experience meeting Maya, and I’m super excited to read this book. And luckily I have a really great memory attached to it!

Want to join in on the Monday Memories fun? Link up and back below!

One thought on “Monday Memories (#9)

  1. ccplteenunderground says:

    We were so lucky to have Maya visit us at CCPL a few weeks ago, and we were just so impressed with her! Isn’t she fabulous?!?

Leave a Reply

