Monday Memories (#8)

Monday Memories is a super easy and super fun meme hosted by The BookBandit  and Miss Print. Participants are asked to post a picture of a book that holds a special place in their hearts, and talk briefly about why this book is so special. If you want to join in on the fun, link up and be sure to link back!

MondayMemoriesFinal

Hello Readers!

I skipped last weeks Monday Memories because of the special “This Is Halloween” feature I was running on my blog. But it’s a new week, and I’m kicking it off with a new Monday Memory.

Today I am going to be talking about a book that is near and dear to my heart. That books is:

FullSizeRender-8

So Much Closer by Susane Colasanti

There are two very important reasons why this book is so near and dear to my heart. Reason number one involves some backstory. Miss Print and I were in attendance to one of the Teen Author Reading Night a few years back. I don’t remember exactly which author (or authors) we were there to see specifically but I do remember Susane Colasanti being there. At this point I hadn’t heard of her, nor of any of her books. When it was her turn to take the mic, not only did she read a clip of her latest book (which at the time was So Much Closer) but she also talked a little about the making of this book and a bit about herself.

That night I learned two things – that Susane Colasanti was a Jersey girl (like me!) who always dreamed of writing and living in the Big Apple (also like me!). Because of these two little facts I connected with this author and her story instantaneously. I just knew I had to read this book.

I bought the book, and as soon as it arrived in the mail I picked it up and read it. I finished it in no time flat and loved each and every moment of it. So Much Closer is near and dear to my heart because through it I discovered a really great author, one that I’m happy to say is one of my most fave authors. Because of So Much Closer I discovered, not only a fave author, but someone who inspires me.

Since reading So Much Closer I’ve gone on to read a good majority of Susane’s books. And in all honesty, I love them. If I hadn’t stumbled upon this book and read it, I would be missing out. So that’s why So Much Closer is a book that is near and dear to my heart.

What Monday Memories are you sharing readers? Feel like joining in on the fun, well link up (below) and link back:

Leave a Reply

