This Is Halloween – Day 2

ThisIsHalloween

 

Hello Readers!

And welcome to Day 2 of this week’s spooky feature – This Is Halloween! Today I’m going to talk about a horror movie that is near and dear to my heart.  And there’s a reason for that beyond the scare factor.

The horror flick in which I’m talking about today is …..

AmityvilleHorrorSo before I tell you about why this movie is so near and dear to my heart, let me tell you a little bit about this movie.

George and Kathy Lutz have found their dream home … or at least they think so. It’s open and airy. It’s shrouded by the cover of trees and sits peacefully on the water. And if all that wasn’t enough — it’s haunted by the house’s gruesome past. You see the previous residents of the house – the DeFeo family – were all brutally murdered in the house at exactly 3:15 a.m. . Since moving in the Lutz family has experienced their share of odd happenings. George has experienced an extreme shift in his personality. Kathy begins having nightmares of the murders. And their young daughter seems to have a new imaginary friend – Jodi DeFeo . Strange and creepy right?! Well, long story short the Lutz family doesn’t last long in this haunted house.

Now that you know what this movie is all about, let me tell you why I love this movie so incredibly much. Firstly, this was one of the first horror movies I saw as a kid. Because of that it will alway hold a special place in my horror loving heart.

Besides that, after first seeing this movie, and being informed (by my friend’s mother) that the DeFeo’s were real people, and that the actual house these events supposedly took place in still stood, it became a mission of mine (and my friends) to see this house. After enough begging and pleading, my friend’s mother (they lived in Long Island, NY) took us to see the house. Yes, I saw the Amityville house. Crazy! I know!

And still, this movie on some level still gives me the creeps. Which at this point, is pretty hard to do!

If you’re a horror fan, and haven’t seen The Amityville Horror (the 1979 original version) I highly suggest you do! You won’t be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

