This Is Halloween – Day 1

ThisIsHalloween

 

Hello Readers!

Today as part of my “This Is Halloween” feature, I’m featuring an odd choice for one of my favorite horror movies. It’s odd not because it isn’t a horror movie (it is), but because this movie I’m about to talk about is part two of three. The first horror movie which I will be talking about today is none other than:

OmenII

Damien: Omen II starring William Holden, Lee Grant, and Jonathan Scott-Taylor.

Before I get into the details of what this movie is about, and why I consider it one of my favorite horror movies, I feel like I should tell you readers (who may or may not know) what The Omen is about.

So…

After Katherine Thorn loses her new born son soon after birth, her husband U.S. diplomat Robert, upon the urging of a priest, adopt a baby boy who’s been left at the hospital. Mr. and Mrs. Thorn adopt the child and name him Damien. All is well, that is until Damien’s nanny kills herself – very publicly – at Damien’s fifth birthday party. Before the actual act, the nanny proclaims “Look at me Damian, it’s all for you!” (This gives you guys some inkling at just how powerful this little boy is). After this event, a series of deaths take place, all while Damien is present.  Even though his parents don’t see the connection, several people try to warm them about what Damien was born from, and who he really is.

That is a (very) brief explanation of The Omen’s plot. And I’m not going to tell you the end, because that would spoil all the fun for you.

Even though I really do like The Omen, and feel like it really sets the whole story and tone, Damien: Omen II (I mean, obviously it’s the first movie in the trilogy) it isn’t my most favorite of the trilogy.

Damien: Omen II picks up a few years later. Damien, if I remember correctly, is about twelve or thirteen years old. He’s now living with his uncle (his father’s brother) and his family, which consists of his aunt and his cousin Mark. Damien and Mark do everything together, even go to the same prestigious military academy. As if the past is repeating itself a series of unfortunate events (no, this has nothing to do with the Lemony Snicket series) all while Damien is present. Besides all this horrific activity, Damien starts to show signs of his power – signs he doesn’t altogether understand, that is until it’s pointed out to him. Knowing exactly who/what is he, Damien realizes the potential in his power.

Again, a (very) brief explanation. But (also) again, no spoilers. I’ve already said too much.

Now that you know what the movie is about, you obviously want to know why I love it so much. The reason why I enjoyed Damien: Omen II so much more than the first is because Damien fully realizes exactly who he is, and exactly the horror that is he is capable of. And because of that, it makes it all the more scarier and horrific.

And for that reason, I can’t help but have enjoyed Damien: Omen II more than the first.

 

Leave a Reply

