Monday Memories (#7)

Monday Memories is a super easy and super fun meme hosted by The BookBandit  and Miss Print. Participants are asked to post a picture of a book that holds a special place in their hearts, and talk briefly about why this book is so special. If you want to join in on the fun, link up and be sure to link back!

MondayMemoriesFinal

Hello Readers!

For today’s Monday Memories, I’m kicking it old school. I’m bringing it back to 1997 when I was in eighth grade!

That’s right, R.L. Stine’s One Evil Summer.

Every year in “library” the class as a whole had to choose a book to read together, and write book reports about. Every year we practically begged our librarian to let us read a Fear Street book. But alas we were too young. That is until eighth grade.

As a whole the class chose to read One Evil Summer, a book that has stuck with me since reading. I remember being creeped out. I remember being shocked at the twists and turns. I remember realizing that I was a R.L. Stine fan through and through.

Fast forward to 2012 to the National Book Festival in Washington, D.C.. With my copy of One Evil Summer, I wait on a massive line under a blazing sun to meet the one and only R.L. Stine. Most people had the latest Goosebumps book, a few here and there had Red Rain. I had a copy of One Evil Summer – “an oldie but goodie” according to R.L. Stine himself.

Never in a million years did I ever think I would have the chance to meet an author I read as a child, as a teen, and as an adult.  Never in a million years did I ever think he would sign a copy of my most favorite Fear Street book.

This just shows you, dear readers, that dreams do come true!

What Monday Memories are you sharing? Link up below!

Leave a Reply

