Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books That Were Hard For Me To Read

securedownload

(Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. The above photo was taken and altered by me for the purpose of these posts. Please do not take or “borrow” without asking.)

Hello Readers!

For the most part I really do enjoy the books I read. But there are times that even though I like an aspect or two of a book, there are reasons why I find it to be a difficult read. This list is composed of books that were hard for me read – not because of subject matter, but rather because I had issues with them on some level.

1 Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater – I’m a Maggie fan through and through. I think both she and her books are awesome.  So you’re wondering why Shiver is on this list then? Let me explain, while I read and really enjoyed several aspects of this book – the original plot, the realistic characters, and the great writing – I didn’t enjoy one important aspect of the book: the pacing. I found the pace to creep by at a snail’s pace. Because of this, it was really hard for me to read.

2. The Summer I Found You by Jolene Perry – I picked this book up on a whim. Looking for something different, something unlike anything I have read before I jumped into this book only to find that it wasn’t what I was looking for. This book was really hard for me to read mainly because of the main character who I really didn’t like, and one I couldn’t really relate to. That’s why this book was hard for me to read.

3. Don’t Call Me Baby by Gwendolyn Heasley – I was super excited about this book. So when I was approved on Edelweiss I downloaded it and began reading almost immediately. And almost immediately I found this book hard to read. Why? Because I felt it was saying that blogging is bad, and as a blogger myself it bothered me.

4. Two Boys Kissing by David Levithan – I’m truly sad that this book is on this list. I wanted to love this book, but reality was I couldn’t even finish it. The reason why was because of the narrators. It made the book feel disjointed, and that made it difficult to read.

5. Lust by Robin Wasserman – This was a book I read during a self imposed reading challenge. I wanted to read the first book in a series I was curious about. I was curious about Wasserman’s Seven Deadly Sins series, so I picked Lust up from the library and began reading. It was really hard for me to read mainly because I felt like every character was just so extremely mean – almost unnecessarily mean. I love character driven books, I love that I can connect and identify with the characters in a book. I couldn’t connect nor identify with any of Lust’s characters unfortunately.

6. A Corner of White by Jaclyn Moriarty –  I consider this book to be a fantasy. And if you know me, you know that I generally don’t do fantasy. Because of that, this book – though very original – was hard to read.

7. A Wounded Name by Dot Hutchinson – I don’t want to say much about why this book was so hard to read. I don’t want to say why for two reasons – one I don’t want to spoil anything for any readers, and two because frankly I don’t want to relive it. The relationship between the two characters was abusive, and it was hard to sit back and read it.

8.  My Beautiful Hippie by Janet Lynch Nichols – Once again, the pacing was sluggish. And beyond that, I felt like nothing really happened.

9. Modelland by Tyra Banks – I really don’t need to say much about this. This book was hard for me because of … well everything.

10. In Search of Mockingbird by Loretta Ellsworth – The reason why this book was so hard for me to read was mainly because I feel, even though it was trying to pay homage to one of my most fave books, it didn’t do it justice.

Leave a Reply

