Monday Memories (#2)

Monday Memories is a super easy and super fun meme hosted by The BookBandit Blog and Miss Print. Participants are asked to post a picture of a book that holds a special place in their hearts, and talk briefly about why this book is so special. If you want to join in on the fun, link up and be sure to link back!

MondayMemoriesFinal

 

Hello Reader!

For today’s Monday Memories post I’m going to get a little sentimental here. I hope you don’t mind.

I’m a reader, not just because of my love of words and books, but because I fully believe it’s programmed into my DNA.  Even though my parents aren’t readers themselves, there are several people in my immediate family who are. My grandfather was a reader. I remember his bookshelves full of books by Robert Ludlum, John Grisham, and Stephen King.

I remember looking at those bookshelves and thinking “one day I’m going to read all of those books.” That was before I realized that my grandfather and I had vastly different tastes in reading.

But one day, I was perusing the shelves and I stumbled across Carrie by Stephen King.  I asked my grandmother, if I could have it. She handed it over to me fully knowing that I would enjoy this book just as much as my grandfather once had.

Carrie

 

Carrie holds a very special place in my horror loving heart. It’s the first Stephen King book I have read. Just like his Pet Cemetery was the first horror movie I saw as a young kid.  I read this book several years ago, and I was captivated. For a book that was published in the mid-1970s it stands the test of time.  Issues like bullying and experiencing societal and familial pressures are real, and because of that readers then and now can easily relate and connect with Carrie. Besides that, I was one of those weird kid who thought I had special powers and could move objects with my mind.

Besides that, this specific edition holds a special place in my heart. It was my grandfather’s book. When he passed away a few years ago this book, among several others of his that I now own, became prized (bookish) possessions. They are tangible items that connect us. This edition is old, it’s worn, and it’s loved. It was loved by him, and it is loved by me.  It even has the bookmark my grandfather used when he read it (yes, when I read it a few years back, I used it too to mark my page).

To share your Monday Memories, use the InLinkz Button below to link up!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Monday Memories (#2)

  1. Cecelia says:

    Awesome book story! My Monday Memory this week is one of my grandmother’s books (they just mean that much more when there is a family connection, don’t they?!). I don’t do horror, but I can see why it’s so special to you.

  2. missprint says:

    This is a great story. My great uncle and I didn’t have a lot in common but Catch-22 still holds a special place in my heart because I know he liked it. Those connections are important.

Leave a Reply

