Shiver

Shiver (The Wolves of Mercy Falls #1) by Maggie Stiefvater

6068551

Grace has always been fascinated with the wolves who reside in the woods surrounding her house. Specifically though,  she’s been fascinated with the yellow-eyed wolf who saved her from being attacked years ago. He protected her than, and he continues to protect her now.

But when Grace finds the yellow eyed wolf, in his human form, curled up and bleeding on her back porch it’s her turn to protect him, the werewolf named Sam.

Protecting Sam comes naturally to Grace. Now that he is in her life, there is no way she can live without him. As the weather turns from warm to cold, Grace needs to find a way to keep Sam warm. Once the cold sets into his bones, Sam will shift – not just for the winter, possibly for the rest of his life.

Shiver, written by author Maggie Stiefvater, is the first book in the Wolves of Mercy Falls Trilogy. This trilogy opener offers readers a sizzling romance, super-hot shape shifting wolves, and ultimately a slow-paced plot.

Stiefvater is a true wordsmith. To say that Shiver is a well written book would be an understatement. Stiefvater’s words are simply captivating. Beyond that, they are descriptive – relying on showing readers the story as it unfolds rather than simply telling.

There were many aspects that I thoroughly enjoyed. First and foremost I really loved main characters Grace and Sam. In regards to Grace,  from the start reader’s get a sense of, not only who she is, but also who (or rather what) she wants to be. She’s the kind of character that readers can easily see themselves within. And then there’s Sam. Yeah, he’s a wolf, but under that thick coat of fur, he’s smart, sensitive, and the kind of character that readers will fall hopelessly in love with.

Besides the two main characters, I really liked that Shiver, a book I would classify as paranormal romance, was unlike any other books in that genre.  It wasn’t typical. It wasn’t what I expected. It wasn’t bland. For one thing, the wolves in Shiver were relatively traditional, and I appreciated that. They were creatures that, yes the humans lusted after, but also creatures that they feared on some level. And it’s that lust and fear that I felt really created the perfect amount of tension.
Even though there was a lot I enjoyed about this book there was one aspect that I really cannot overlook. I did not enjoy the pace. It was slow … too slow in fact.  Because of the pace I felt like there was a whole lot of build up with very little pay off. I was disappointed to say the least. It’s because of this I had to knock some points off this otherwise enjoyable book.
I’m a fan of Stiefvater’s work in general. And I have a feeling that as the trilogy progresses the pace will pick up. I most likely will continue on with this trilogy … eventually.
2 thoughts on “Shiver

  1. ccplteenunderground says:

    Thanks for the honest review! I can’t handle books that move too slowly either, but I’m still planning on giving this series a try!

Leave a Reply

