Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I’m Not Sure I Want To Read

securedownload

 

(Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broken & The Bookish. The above photo was taken and altered by me for the purpose of these posts. Please do not take or borrow it without permission.)

Hello Readers!

To read or not to read? That is the topic of today’s Top Ten Tuesday post. There are a lot of books floating out there, many of which I want to read, many of which I don’t want to read, and many which I thought I wanted to read but am not so sure about anymore.

In no particular order*:

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas – I received an ARC of this just before it’s publication from Book Expo America (BEA). At first it was one of those books that had been getting tons of buzz, and that buzz piqued a curiosity. But I never got around to actually picking up and reading it. Now, after hearing so much about this book I’m not sure it’s my kind of book.

Every Day by David Levithan – I think David Levithan is awesome. I loved the books he’s co-written with Rachel Cohn, especially Nick & Norah and Dash & Lily. I loved Boy Meets Boy.  But after being so incredibly let down by the last Levithan book I read (Two Boys Kissing) I honestly don’t want to read Every Day because I was so (previously) let down. I don’t want to be let down again.

The Extraordinary Secrets of April, May, & June by Robin Benway – This book has been on my radar and my TBR list since …. FOREVER! I remember reading a brief summary of it right before it was published, and I was immediately interested. But time passed and the interested started to fade.

The Pretty Little Liars Series by Sara Shepard – I read book one of this series, and I really did enjoy it. I enjoyed the writing, the characters, the mystery, and all the twists and turns that I didn’t see coming. But with the series still going strong, I’m giving up on ever reading the rest of the books. There are just too many, and I’m just not that dedicated. I’m completely happy NOT knowing who A really is.

The Violet Eden Chapters 2 & 3 by Jessica Shirvington – I read book one of this series Embrace, and even though I really enjoyed it, I’m kind of over the whole angel theme.

The Last Dragonslayer by Jasper Fforde – okay in all honesty this is a book I want to read, but one I don’t think I’ll enjoy it because I’m not typically a fantasy reader. But my co-worker has been trying her hardest to convince me that it is the fantasy for me. I think I have to trust her.

How to Save a Life by Sara Zarr – I’ve read three books by Zarr. Two of those books I really, really liked. The other one, I just didn’t care for – at all. How to Save a Life is one of those book that I’ve been on the fence about.  And because I’m such an indecisive person it looks like I may stay on the fence with this one.

 

*I realize readers that there are not ten books on this list. I know there are a bunch of books that I wanted to read at one point but no longer have an interest in.  However, I can’t think of them all. I normally keep a running to read list on Goodreads and every so ofter I go through that list and weed out the books I know I will never get to, the books I no long want to read, or the books I’m not sure why I added in the first place. I already went though the list and weeded several books off of it. So I’m working on memory, and if you know me, you know I’m quite forgetful.

 

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I’m Not Sure I Want To Read

  1. Andi ABCs says:

    I’m going out on a limb here and I’m going to say that I think you will like Throne of Glass. I had no desire to read it, like at all, and now I’m a HUGE fan of the series. The fantasy gets higher as the story progress in the other books, but Throne of Glass plays out like The Hunger Games meets The Selection meets Dawson’s Creek.

  2. missprint says:

    I’d try How to Save a Life. You know how I feel about Every Day and ToG. I want you to love The Last Dragonslayer . . . but it might be too wacky. Keep me posted on your final decisions obvs.

    • Nicole says:

      My coworker thinks I’ll really enjoy The Last Dragonslayer. I like wacky, as long as I get it. You know me and fantasy. You’ll probably know my final (reading) decisions before I do ha ha.

  3. Books and Iced Coffee says:

    Before reading Throne of Glass, I wasn’t really into reading modern fantasy, but that all changed after reading ToG. Not saying that it may have the same affect on you, but it definitely is a book worth reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

