(A Long Overdue) BEA Recap Part III

photo 2-39

Hello Readers!

To be honest with you, I didn’t think Emma (Miss Print) and I would survive the epic twelve plus hour day we had the day before.  But we survived. I can’t speak for Emma, but I can say this for myself – I was downright exhausted! Friday kicked my butt, but that didn’t mean that I wasn’t excited for the last day of BEA — I totally was.

Even though the last day always proves to be the calmest of the three days, Emma and I get to the Javits (admittedly) a bit earlier than we really need to be. This year was no different. As was the past two days we found ourselves there just before 9 a.m. . And I’m glad we were there early. Why? Because we didn’t realize that BookCon – the day that the conference is open to the general public – would be total chaos. Seriously!

Before I move forward with this post, let me just get this off my chest!

A word on BookCon:

I think BookCon is a great idea in theory, but I feel, especially after experiencing it, that it just wasn’t executed as well as it could have been. For one thing BookCon brought with it, not only shorter author signings but also thousands of more people. Secondly, the entire Exhibit Hall was not open to those BookCon attendees.  BookCon attendees were only allowed in the autographing area, while we BEA attendees were allowed in all areas of the Exhibit Hall. This, I think, created a lot of animosity between the two attending parties.

Besides this, there just weren’t enough volunteers on hand to manage the massive crowds. And they were massive!

photo 3-19

 

Moving right along …

BEA started with Emma and I high-tailing it to Harper’s booth, where we patiently waited for one of their last book drops of BEA14.  It felt like Emma and I were being thwarted at every chance we had to get these books.  But we wouldn’t be thwarted this time – we simply wouldn’t allow it!

We milled about the (empty exhibit hall floor) enjoying the space, the air, and the calmness of the morning. It was almost like the calm before the storm because we both knew in minutes time we’d find ourselves braving the autographing area. There weren’t a whole lot of top priority authors signing Saturday, but there were enough to force us over to the other side.

Of all the amazing authors signing on Saturday Emma and I only made it to four of those authors.

photo 2-40

Author Daisy Whitney was the first up on our author signing agenda. She was signing her upcoming YA The Fire Starter. Prior to BEA14 I didn’t know much about this title. But after, I’m interest. I can wait to read the pages behind this beautiful cover!

maneuvering the autographing area was a real task, especially during the time when author extraordinaire Libba Bray was signing. Instead of a line there was simply a clump of people who simply were not moving.

Somehow, Emma and I squeezed our way through the masses and found ourselves on-line to meet author Corey Haydu.

photo 4-9

 

She was signing hardcover copies of her book Life By Committee, a book I’ve heard nothing but great things about. Corey Haydu was super sweet, and a real pleasure to meet and talk to.

After Corey Haydu’s line – which was long but manageable – we hopped quickly over to Skylar Dorset’s line in anticipation of not only meeting her but getting a signed copy of her debut The Girl That Never Was.  This book sounds so cool, so I’m glad that both Emma and I had a chance to meet Skylar and get a copy of her book.

photo 5-10

 

After Skylar Emma and I headed over to Claire Pernice’s line. Claire wrote a picture book called Circus Girl. You know me and my love of the circus so you know I just had this book. Luckily the line wasn’t very long, and we each had our chance to get a copy of the book and meet this great author!

IMG_1163

(Picture taken by Emma)

 

There were a few other authors that I was looking forward to seeing, but to be completely honest the lines were just way too long and I was way too tired. It was time to say goodbye to Book Expo America for another year.

BEA14 was a success. Not only did I get to meet some really great authors, and pick up some really great books, but I had the chance to meet some of my fellow bloggers.

This year, I had the pleasure of meeting Andi from Andi’s ABCs , Kate from Midnight Book Girl  , Rebecca from Book Bite Reviews, Karen from For What It’s Worth, and Kate from Kate’s Tales of Books and Bands.  It was great to meet all of you!

Until next year …

Leave a Reply

