Top Ten Tuesday: Fave Movies/Television Shows

securedownload

(Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke & The Bookish. The above photo was taken and altered by me. Please don’t take or “borrow” it.)

Hello Readers!

It’s no secret I’m not much of a television watcher. I never really was I guess. But movies … those I love. I’ve always loved going to the movies. Seriously, every time I go I think about that scene in the movie Annie where Daddy Warbucks takes little orphan Annie to Radio City Music hall and she’s running down the isle, and the showgirl’s are belting out “Let’s Go To The Movies”.

So for today’s TTT post – because it focuses on both television and movies – I’ll be discussing my top five television shows (of all time – yes some of them are no longer on air) and my top five movies of all time.

Television:

5. Catfish: The TV Show – I just started watching this show, and I just find it really interesting. I like trying to figure out how people’s minds work and why we as humans do the things we do. I feel like this show explores that.

4. Modern Family – I recently started watching this show. And even there are moments I don’t love there are other moments that I do. I started watching Modern Family on rerun episodes on the USA network. After a night full watching I quickly ILL-ed the first few seasons of the show. What I like about it, as a new viewer, is that I don’t have to watch the show in order. Besides that, I think Sophia Vergara is awesome!

3. American Pickers – I started watching this show accidentally. I found my father watching this show several times, most of those times I paid no mind to it. But I then asked him what it was about. After a simple explanation I watched and episode or two. I was hooked. I love how the show really shows it’s viewers two things: one person’s junk is another person’s treasure AND every item has a story all of it’s own. Plus I think Danielle is pretty cool!

2. The Gilmore Girls – This was a television show that I simply adored! I watched from the first episode to the very last. I simply loved how charming the show was. Star Hollow – this little fictional town – was where I wanted to live. Luke’s Diner was where I wanted to eat. And of course I wanted to be bff’s with Rory and Lane. I loved the quick banter, all the pop culture references, and I obviously loved all the books that Rory read.

339 Book Referenced in The Gilmore Girls

1. The Big Bang Theory – I didn’t always love the Big Bang Theory. In fact the first time I saw it, I thought it was rather stupid. But my mother watched the show – and being that we share a television I had no other choice to watch. I don’t remember what episode it was, or what season, but as we were watching it, I found myself chuckling along. After I realized some key components of the show, I got it, and not only found it to be (hilariously) funny, but also super smart. I’ve been hooked ever since.

Movies:

5. You’ve Got Mail – Like A League of Their Own this is a movie that I watch every single time it’s on TV. I love that this movie it about books. And that it’s set in one of my favorite cities – New York. I don’t know what it is about this movie, but I always felt there was something magical about it.

4.  Spirited Away – simply put it’s just a beautiful movie.

3. A League of Their Own – This is one of those movies that every single time it’s on TV, no matter from what point in the movie it’s at, I have to watch it. It’s one of those movies that I randomly quote. I just love it.

2. Forrest Gump – I loved this movie from the first time I saw it. Why do I love it so much? I love it because this one movie touches on almost every single major points in history – the Vietnam War, the shooting of JFK, the Watergate scandal, and so much more.

1. Alice in Wonderland – I love all versions of Alice in Wonderland. But my most favorite versions is the 1985 made for TV version. I love it so much because I honestly think it was the first version of Alice I saw.  I love it for many reasons – but mainly I loved it because this television version was just Alice in Wonderland – it also included Through the Looking Glass. Besides that there were so many top notch celebs in this TV version: Sammy Davis Jr., Telly Savalas, Ringo Starr, Red Buttons, and even Scott Baio. And still, I believe that this was the first version of Alice in Wonderland I have ever seen.  After seeing it I was obsessed, and have been looking for the rabbit hole to Wonderland ever since.

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Fave Movies/Television Shows

  1. missprint says:

    Oh you and your creepy live action Alice. But I wholeheartedly agree about Spirited Away. So lovely. Have you seen Kiki’s Delivery Service?

  2. Nicole says:

    There’s nothing creepy about my fave live action Alice! It’s magical and fantastic! I love Spirited Away, and yes I have seen Kiki’s Delivery Service (I actually own in on DVD). I love that one too!

Leave a Reply

