Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Should Have (But Didn’t Read) As A Kid

securedownload

(Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke & The Bookish. The above photo was taken and altered by me for the purpose of these posts. Please do not take or “borrow” without asking. Thanks!)

Hello Readers!

True fact: I wasn’t always a reader. Sure I liked to read. But I didn’t read as much as a child/teen as I read now as an adult. Maybe it’s because as a child I had a bad library experience that kept me out of my public library for years and years. Maybe it’s because I read my cousin’s leftovers (The Babysitters Club, Fear Street, etc.). But for whatever reason, I haven’t read these books, and I probably should have.

Charlotte’s Web by E.B White

Island of the Blue Dolphins by Scott O’Dell

Are You There God? It’s Me Margaret by Judy Blume

Harriet the Spy by Louise Fitzhugh

Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery

The Giver by Lois Lowry

Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of Nimh by Robert C. O’Brien

The Witch of Blackbird Pond by Elizabeth George Speare

Sarah, Plain and Tall by Patricia MacLachlan

Peter Pan by J.M Barrie

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Should Have (But Didn’t Read) As A Kid

  1. Cecelia says:

    Oh, this entire list makes my heart sing! Yes, you must get to these titles someday soon… they’re worth the effort, even if you won’t get the full childhood experience.

  2. caitlinstern says:

    Some excellent books on this list–it’s never to late to read a book, regardless of it’s intended age range. This TTT helped me decide I should reread some Roald Dahl. 🙂

Leave a Reply

