Shorty Review: The Darkest Minds

10576365-1

Title: The Darkest Minds 

Author(s): Alexandra Bracken

Why Did I Read This Book: There are many reasons why I read this book. Not only did I pick up an arc of it at Book Expo America (in 2012) but I was lucky enough to get that arc signed by author Alexandra Bracken.  The Darkest Minds was one of my most anticipated books that year, mainly because – from the premise – I knew haven’t read anything like it!  Besides that, fellow blogger and real life bff Miss Print (who read it before me) told me that I just HAD to read it.

Thoughts, Likes, Dislikes:  Like I said above, The Darkest Minds is unlike any book I’ve ever read. There was action and adventure, mystery and mayhem, love and sadly even loss.  I really liked how the author balances the mindset of the abilities that her characters have – some see it as a gift, others see is as a punishment. This really balances out the overall storyline. Beyond that I liked how, at its core, The Darkest Minds is a survival story. Author Alexandra Bracken has written a book that is all-absorbing.  The writing that fills the pages is top-notch. Bracken has spun a story so tangled readers can’t help but get caught up in it all. Bracken creates a palpable tension, so thick you could slice through it with a knife.  As a reader, I found a twist and a turn at every page. I couldn’t help by grip the edge of my seat. Beyond the writing, Bracken’s characters are crafted with a specific attention to detail. Ruby, Liam, Chubs, and Zu all bring something different to the table. Ruby is a fighter through and through. She’s full of passion and fight. Liam, who is wise beyond his years, is level-headed but protects those he loves with an almost unnatural fierceness. Chubs – quite possibly my most favorite character (of all times) is prickly around the edges, but once readers get to know him find out that he’s a big old teddy bear. And Zu, lovable Zu who is so full of innocence and life, is simply refreshing.  Combined these four truly make this character driven story what it is.

Recommend It:  Most definitely YES!!

2 thoughts on “Shorty Review: The Darkest Minds

    • Nicole says:

      Hi Kayla,

      I actually recently finished Never Fade. I loved it just as much as The Darkest Minds. If you haven’t read it, definitely check it out, especially if you really liked the first.

Leave a Reply

