Stacking The Shelves (1)

photo-32

(Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. The above photo was taken and altered by me. Please do not take or “borrow” it.)

Hello Readers!

I decided to participate in another meme, and one that I am really excited for. I’m excited about it for several reasons. One: it’s new to me. I discovered this meme via another blog I follow (Alexa Loves Books), and once I read her post, I knew I had to get in on this action. Second: You know me, I just LOVE talking about all things books. And third: I figured why not? There is no good, logical reason why I wouldn’t participate in such a meme.

So, what is stacking the shelves? Basically, it’s a meme where participants talk about the books they have added to their bookshelves – physical and electronic. I have a lot of books, and I review them, but I never actually tell you why I buy them, or download them, etc.. This gives me a chance to do just that.

So this week, I’m going to be talking about a few books I bought recently for my shiny new Kindle Fire.  Now, I’m going to be honest: I bought these books a few weeks ago. But better share now rather than later, right?!?

thepromiseofamazing

The Promise of Amazing by Robin Constantine

This was a complete impulse buy. I’ve heard about The Promise of Amazing here and there, read a few reviews in various review journals, and have even seen in on my own library’s shelf. But I wasn’t sure. So what changed my mind? What made me impulsively purchase a book I was on the fence about? Well, I was flipping through my local newspaper and I came across an article about author Robin Constantine and her debut. Turns out Robin Constantine was born and raised in the same city I was born, raised, and currently reside in. And as if that wasn’t cool enough, turns out she’s a graduate of the same exact high school I graduated from. So, after finding this out, I knew I just had to support my town and my high school.

scintillate

Scintillate by Tracy Clark

Last November one of my bestest friends and I hopped into my car and drove to Charleston, South Carolina full of excitement over Yall Fest 2013. While at the actual event, while on-line to meet author Pseudonymous Bosch we met a very friendly lady named Tracy Clark. While chit-chatting about this and that she mentioned that her first book Scintillate was coming out. So when I saw that it was out, and it was only ninety-nine cents on Amazon I figured I would give it a whirl and support a new author.

whereninalies

Where Nina Lies by Lynn Weingarten

This book has been on my to read list since … forever. Where Nina Lies has Nicole written all over it.  Because of I wanted to read this for such a long time I thought it would be best to buy it and have it on deck for whenever I’m ready to sit down and read it.

mylifenextdoor

My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

I’ve been curious about this book since it came out. But I’ve never got around to checking it out. So when it was Kindle Daily Deal for only $1.99 I figured what a perfect chance to give this book a whirl and satisfy my curiosity.

stealingheaven

Stealing Heaven by Elizabeth Scott

This is another book that has been on my to read list since forever. I first heard about this book when I was in grad school. I heard about it, and stored it in my memory banks for a later time since I had little to no time for pleasure reading while in grad school. Since I have more time on my hands, and I promised myself that I would get around to all those books I’ve been meaning to get around to, I bought it.

That’s all I have for this week, readers. But please, stay tuned for more Stacking the Shelves posts.

3 thoughts on “Stacking The Shelves (1)

Leave a Reply

