Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Popular Authors That I’ve Never Read

securedownload

(Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. The above photo was taken and altered by me. Please do not take or “borrow” it without permission.)

Hello Readers!

Welcome to today’s Top Ten Tuesday post! There are many great authors out there. Some of which are popular, some of which are up and coming. But I’m going to let you in on a little secret about those popular authors…I haven’t read a lot of those popular authors. Why? Well, read on to find out.

10. Cassandra Clare – If you have read my last TTT post, that you already know that I haven’t read any of Cassandra Clare’s books. And to be completely honest, I probably will not. Why? Even though Clare is a wildly talented and successful author, her books aren’t for me. There’s no clear cut reason of why I feel this way, but I just can’t get into them.

9. Veronica Roth – I’m one of the very few people who haven’t read Divergent at this point. But with the movie coming out, I can promise you this: I will remedy this before March 21st.

8. Ellen Hopkins – Hopkins books seem to have everything I want wrapped up into an edgy package. They’re realistic, their gritty. They are the kinds of books that I can really sink my teeth into. But I’ve never once picked up one of her books.

7. Tahereh Mafi – I had an ARC of Shatter Me — before it came out. I even met Ms. Mafi and had her sign said ARC (she’s super sweet, and has awesome shoes!). But I never got around to reading Shatter Me. At the time I felt like I wasn’t going to like it. At the time, I just didn’t want to find the time to squeeze it in. So I found another home for it, and now I’m kind of wishing I hadn’t. Shatter Me is one of those books I promised myself I would read at some point in 2014.

6. Tamora Pierce – Readers, you know me. I don’t do fantasy. No. At. All. So it’s not really a surprise that I haven’t read any of Pierce’s works. But I made a deal with a friend/coworker: I will read a book of her choosing and she will read a book of my choosing. This should be interesting.

5. Jenny Han – I just haven’t picked up a Jenna Han book even though I own a copy of Burn for Burn, even though it’s signed.  I will read a Jenny Han book. I will read a Jenny Han book. I will read a Jenny Han book ….

4. J.D. Salinger – Yes, it’s true. I’ve NEVER read Catcher in the Rye. It was never assigned to me in high school. I never had the urge to pick it up and read it on my own will. Now, as an adult I’m not one hundred percent sure if this quintessential teen read will leave an impression on me. But according to author Libba Bray “Haulden Caufield is Not an A**hole” So, I will give it a try (eventually) because of Ms. Bray.

3. Kristin Cashore – Again, no real explanation as to why I haven’t read any of her books. But I haven’t. And I probably wouldn’t.

2. Judy Bloom – As a kid I read a lot of Goosebumps/Fear Street. I read a lot of Baby Sitters Club and Sweet Valley High. But I never read Judy Bloom. At some point I even thought that I missed the mark to read any of Judy Bloom. But now that I’m a wise adult I know that I can read Judy Bloom at any time, at any age.

1. Marissa Meyer – What can I say – there just isn’t enough reading time and these books just aren’t at the top of my reading list.

Leave a Reply

