Top Ten Tuesday Rewind

securedownload

(Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broken and The Bookish. The above photo was taken and altered by me for the purpose of Top Ten Tuesday posts. Please do not take without permission.)

Hello Readers!

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday topic (try saying that three times fast ha ha) is an interesting one. For todays post I get to pick a Top Ten Tuesday topic that I want to red0 or one I may have missed. Since Top Ten Tuesday posts are relatively new posts here on The BookBandit Blog I figured I would post about a Top Ten Tuesday topic I haven’t posted about to day. And that topic is: The Top Ten Books I Will Never Read.

Before jumping into the post I just want to preface it with this: this list is not intended to hurt or offend anyone, especially the authors and the fans of the books in the list. I am certain that all the books I’m posting about today are great books, but they are books that just are not for me, books I feel will never be for me for whatever reason.

10. Any of Cassandra Clare’s books. I’ve met Cassandra Clare, and seen her at some book events. I think she’s a total rock star. I’ve picked up City of Bones several times. I read several pages over and over, and I just…can’t…get…into…it.

9. The Hobbit by J.R. R. Tolkien – I never had the desire to pick up The Hobbit. Even with the newly released movie adaptions, I still have no desire to. And I especially have no desire to see the movies either for that matter.

8. Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier – At one point I owned this book (no I didn’t buy it, I promise you I didn’t.) I tried reading it, and again just couldn’t get into it. The cover is beautiful, and I like the premise of the book, but no.

7. The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne – I read this very early on in high school. To say the least, I hated this book. I thought I just didn’t like it because I was young and forced to read it. I read it again, on my own choosing while in college, and I still hated it. I will never … ever! read The Scarlet Letter again.

6. Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert – I really enjoyed this movie. It was fun, and I had the chance to travel the world without leaving the comforts of my hometown movie theater. Because this is a work of nonfiction, and I’m generally not a nonfiction reader, I have a harder time than most reading nonfiction titles.

5. Anything by Danielle Steel – this woman has written about a zillion books, but yet I have no desires to read even one of her books. While I’m certain that her books are great, and that the writing is great, I don’t enjoy the kind of stories she writes.

4.Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler – I love Lemony Snicket. I love Daniel Handler as Lemony Snicket. I love the persona, and the books. But I found out when I started but ultimately could not finish Why We Broke Up that Handler is better as Snicket.

3. All of the Harry Potter Series (except book 1) by J.K. Rowling – I’m waving my white flag. I surrender. And it’s time to admit I probably will not read the rest of the series. Maybe one day, but honestly not any time soon.

2. Anything by Stephanie Meyer – I admit I jumped on the Twilight bandwagon, gobbling up all the books within weeks of each other. And I admit that I was captured by the storyline (however, not the writer). But after the whole Bree Tanner novella, I was done. Not because of the writing, or the storyline, but because I honestly feel that everything Meyer will write from this point forward will always revolve around Twilight. I’ve read the entire series, for what it was I enjoyed it, but now I’m over it.

1. Fifty Shades of Grey Trilogy by E.L. James – plain and simple: just not my cup of tea.

Leave a Reply

