Winter Break Book Blogger Challenge: Day Twelve

16DaysofBlogging

 

 

Hello Readers!

Today is day twelve of Andi and Amanda’s Winter Break Book Blogger Challenge: Sixteen Days of blogging. I’m sad to say that the challenge is winding down. But I’m happy to say that I’ve been diligent – normally I start things like this but never finish them. Not only am I happy, I’m proud that I stuck through it.

Day Twelve: What are your New Year’s Reading Resolutions

It’s January 1st which means as of today I’m setting a new reading goal for myself. But here’s the thing, my reading goal, I try to keep it low in the hopes of, not only making it, but surpassing it (as I did this year!). So I’m setting my reading goal at a nice round number of 125 books. This was the same goal I set last year, and the same goal that I met and I surpassed.  I’m confident that I’ll make it, even though I admittedly am not the fastest reader.

As a reader and a librarian I, very obviously, have a fair amount of books. A lot of those books I’ve already read. A lot of those I haven’t. One of my goals in 2014 is to read the books I’ve been meaning to, the books that I’ve had just lying around for quite sometime.

In terms of books, I’ve already mentioned that I have a fair amount. Some of those books are ARCs (advance readers copies) I’d give you a number count, but I haven’t counted out of fear. I don’t want to get rid of all my books – that’s just crazy talk now! But I would like to get rid of some. So in 2014 I’m going to do my best not to hold onto books, to find better homes and/or donate them.

A few years back I resolved to stop reading a book if I wasn’t enjoying it. I’ve stuck with that resolution, and I’m going to continue it in 2014. There are plenty of great books out there, so why should I spend time reading ones that aren’t?!

Besides reading I have several blogging resolutions.

In 2014 I really, really want to become a better, a stronger reviewer And I think the only way to do that is to commit myself to review every single book I read, even the ones that I find too difficult to review.

Besides that I want to blog more regularly, maybe not every single day of the week but a few more days that I already do.

And on a more personal level, I’m an aspiring writer. I’ve been working on a project for quite sometime. I will not resolve to write every single day because I know that’s not realistic for me. But I hope to write more, to dedicate a few hours every week. But doing this I hope to complete the project which I’m currently working on.

So, that’s it. Those are my resolutions. Happy New Years! And I hope 2014 is a great one!

Leave a Reply

