End of Year (Book) Survey

endofyearsurvey

Hello Readers!

Not only am I a blogger, but I’m also a blog reader! And from reading blogs I discovered this End of Year Survey hosted by Jamie over at The Perpetual Page-Turner. After reading Jamie’s end of year survey, and several other blogs (like Alexa Loves Books, Book.Blog.Bake, etc) I decided to jump on the bandwagon and take part in this survey as well.

I also want to make a note of this before jumping straight into the survey. I read plenty of books this year, but some of them – most of them – were not new releases. So my answers will reflect that.

BestBooks2013

1. Best book read in 2013 (if you have to cheat you can break it down by genre if you want or 2013 release vs. backlist)?

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

2. Book you were excited about and thought you were going to love more, but didn’t?

It’s a toss-up between A Corner of  White by Jaclyn Moriarty, A Wounded Name by Dot Hutchinson, & My Beautiful Hippie by Janet Nichols Lynch

3. Most surprising (in a good way) book of 2013?

Pilgrims Don’t Wear Pink by Stephanie Kate Strohm. For whatever reason, going into this book I (very wrongly) assumed that this wasn’t my kind of book. But surprise, surprise … I couldn’t put the book down!

4. Book you’ve read in 2013 that you recommend to people most in 2013?

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell. I’ve told anyone who would listen about Rowell and her awesome books! And as of more recently, I’ve been recommending Ruta Sepetys’ Out of Easy.

5. Best series you’ve discovered in 2013?

The Splintered series by A.G. Howard

6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2013?

A.G Howard, Amy Spalding, and Laura Lam

7. Best book that was out of your comfort zone or a new genre for you?

8. Most unputdownable book of 2013?

9. Book you’ve read in 2013 that you are most likely to re-read?

10. Favorite cover a book you read in 2013?

The Moon and More by Sarah Dessen. I absolutely love the colors of the cover! So, so beautiful.

11. Most memorable character in 2013?

Rebecca “Rebel” Blue from Goodbye, Rebel Blue by Shelley Coriell, Mackenzie “Mac” Bishop from The Archived by Victoria Schwab, Chubs from The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken

12. Most beautifully written book you read in 2013?

Wonder Show by Hannah Barnaby, Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell, Tigers in Red Weather by Liza Klaussman

13. Book that had the greatest impact on you in 2013?

Goodbye, Rebel Blue by Shelley Coriell

14. Bool you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2013 to finally read?

Paper Towns by John Green. Really, I don’t know what took me so long!

15. Favorite passage/quote from a book you read in 2013?

“I’m the kind of girl who fantasizes about being trapped in a library overnight […]” – Fangirl

16. Shortest & Longest book you read in 2013?

Shortest, probably MyBeautiful Hippie by Janet Nichols Lynch. Longest, probably The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken

17. Book that has a scene in it that had you reeling and dying to talk to somebody about?

Definitely The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken. Poor Miss Print had to deal with text after text of nonstop questioning (since she read it before I did).

18. Favorite relationship from a book you’ve read in 2013?

Cath and Levi from Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

19. Favorite book you’ve in 2013 from an author you’ve read already?

Hysteria by Megan Miranda

20. Best book you’ve read in 2013 that you read based SOLELY on a recommendation from somebody else?

People have a tendency to recommend books to me, and I do take those recommendations seriously. However, I have a tendency not to listen. Or do the exact opposite. But one book a friend of mine told me I really needed to get around to was Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children. I did get around to it (she forced me to listen to the audio of it on a very long car journey down South) and I absolutely adored it! So, thank you Dee for making me listen to it!

21. Genre that you’ve read the most from in 2013?

Probably realistic/comtemporary. It’s what I tend to read pretty much all of the time.

22. New fictional crush from a book you’ve read in 2013?

Levi from Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

23. Best 2013 debut read?

Splintered by A.G. Howard

24. Most vivid world/imagery in a book you’ve read in 2013?

Pantomime by Laura Lam

25. Book that was most fun to read in 2013?

Revenge of the Girl With the Great Personality by Elizabeth Eulberg

26. Book that made you cry or nearly cry in 2013?

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

27. Book you’ve read in 2013 that you think got overlooked this year or when it came out?

The Girl in the Wall by Daphne Benedis-Grab

BookBloggingLife

1. Favorite book blog you’ve discovered in 2013?

Hmmm … I started following several blogs this year. I started following Andi’s ABCs , Book.Blog.Bake. , and The Broke and The Bookish

2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2013?

I really enjoyed, not only reading, but also reviewing Aprilynne Pikes Life After Theft.

3. Best discussion you had on your blog?

Sadly, no real discussions took place on The BookBandit Blog 😦

4. Most thought-provoking review or discussion you read on someone else’s blog?

I’m not really sure about this one. There were so many great reviews and/or discussions!

5. Best even that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc)?

I go to a lot of book signing and book festivals. This past year I went to two that really stood out to me. In the summer I attended a Books of Wonder event where I had the chance to meet one of my all time favorite authors, Neil Gaiman. Not only did I meet him but I got a few items signed by him as well (but because it was so super crazy and busy, I couldn’t snap a picture with him)

stardust

The other event that really stands out to me was Y’all Fest this past November. I met a ton of authors there, and had my book signed. Well, except for Ransom Riggs who was sick and vomiting everywhere so he couldn’t actually sign my book – but I did get a signed bookplate!

photo-29

Not only did I get to meet some of my fave authors and get them to sign my books, I also had the chance to sit in on a lovely conversation between Rainbow Rowell and Stephanie Perkins, two authors I truly am inspired by. After it was all said and done, at the end of the night I went to the YA Smack Down where Tiger Beat performed! It was an all around great day.

photo-28

6. Best moment of your book blogging/your book life in 2013?

I love picture books. Anyone who knows me, and who has read this blog knows my love for them. With that, they also know my love for Oliver Jeffers. I’m such a huge fan of his work – he’s a super talented illustrator and an equally talented writer. At this years Book Expo America (BEA) I had the chance to meet Oliver Jeffers. And I kid you not, I was in complete fangirl mode! Not only did he sign my book, but he was also so kind to take a picture with me!

IMG_1014

7. Post you wished got a little more love?

There are two posts that I wished got a bit more blog lovin’ this year than what they actually did. One post was my A to Z: YA Edition. I had a really great time putting this alphabetical list together, and I honestly thought that my readers would like it as well. Another post I wish that got more blog lovin’ was my Synchronized Reading: Fangirl Post #: Fan Fiction and Fandoms. I worked really had on that post, and it was a post I’m really proud of because it was so personal. I’m not much for blogging about my personal life, but I honestly felt that this was a step – yes, a rather small one – to opening up and letting my readers get to know a different side of me.

8. Best bookish discovery?

Unfortunately for me, I didn’t really make any bookish discoveries this year. But Miss Print, told me all about this website BookCrossing.com a while back. I researched it, I signed myself up, and this year I released my first book into the wild! It was all so exciting. I can’t wait to release another book!

9. Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of the year?

In fact, I did complete a reading challenge. For the past several years, at the start of the year I think up a number, normally above 100 and I set a reading goal. This year my goal was to read a total of 125 books. I met my goal, and surprisingly I surpassed it. This year I read 126 books! This is the first year where I actually hit my goal and than surpassed it. And you know what, I’m proud!

LookingAhead

1. One book that you didn’t get to in 2013 but will be a priority in 2014?

Just one?! I have a whole laundry list of books that are top priorities. Instead of posting that list (it’s overwhelming) I’ll just list two books that I am going to make priorities: Because It Is My Blood and In the Age of Love and Chocolate by Gabrielle Zevin.

2. Book you are most anticipating in 2014?

Unhinged by A.G. Howard, Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins, Landline by Rainbow Rowell, Hollow City by Ransom Riggs, The Unbound by Victoria Schwab, Better Off Friends by Elizabeth Eulberg,

3. 2014 Debut you are most looking forward to?

Defy by Sara B. Larson

4. Series ending you are most anticipating in 2014?

I really don’t have an answer to this. I’m terrible with series. I have a really bad habit of starting a series, falling in love with it, but never picking up the remaining titles in said series. It’s quite annoying, and I’m trying to get better.

5. One thing you how to accomplish or do in your reading/blogging in 2014?

As of January 1st I’m starting a new challenge. I hope to read 150 books during the course of 2014, that’s 25 more books that my original goal set in 2013. Blogging wise, the one think I hope to accomplish is being more organized, in terms of having a review buffer instead of writing a review the day it’s scheduled to post. I hope to do more synchronized readings with my buddy Miss Print.

One thought on “End of Year (Book) Survey

Leave a Reply

