Winter Break Book Blogger Challenge: Day Five

16DaysofBloggingHello Readers!

Today is day five of Andi and Amanda’s Winter Break Book Blogger Challenge. And I’m still going strong! Today’s topic is my favorite holiday book. Now readers, this was not an easy topic for me. Why? Because I just haven’t read many holiday and/or Christmas-y books and because the ones I have read I already blogged about in this challenge.  So what’s left?!

Day Five: Favorite Holiday Book:

yesvirginia

 

Yes Virginia, There is a Santa Claus by Chris Plehal

I absolutely love, love, love this book! More than this, I love it’s main character Virginia.

This is why this book is easily my favorite holiday book. Reading it, I can’t help but get excited for Christmas and the entire holiday season. It’s like, as I read this book, I’m instantly transported back to my childhood, full of wonder and amazement. Yes Virginia, There Is A Santa Claus demonstrates the power of belief, especially the power of believing.

I also love the fact that this book is based upon actual events. To know that Virginia was a real life girl, not much different from me, is amazing.

Beyond this, Virginia is a great character. She’ full of life and love, a real spit-fire if you ask me. And I can’t help to see a bit of myself in her – myself as a child and even myself as an adult.

For these reasons, and so many more Yes Virginia, There is a Santa Claus is my favorite holiday read.

What is yours?!?

Leave a Reply

