Winter Break Book Blogger Challenge: Day One

16DaysofBlogging

Hello Readers,

For the next sixteen (16) days I will be participating in the Winter Break Book Blogger Challenge: Sixteen Days of Blogging hosted by Andi over at Andi’s ABCs and Amanda over at Maestra Amanda’s Bookshelf . Because I want to fully participate in this, some days I will be posting more than once (yes, I plan to keep up with my regularly scheduled content).

Day One: Favorite Book(s) Set in Winter

Picking just one favorite book is a difficult task for me. Picking one that is set during the winter season is even more difficult. But somehow I managed to pick, not one, but two winter-y books that I would definitely consider favorites.

dashlily

Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

Cohn and Levithan’s Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares, in my opinion, is the quintessential winter read.  And there are many reasons why it’s one of my most favorite winter reads. For one thing, I love New York City. More than that, I love New York City in the winter-time, with all of the twinkly lights, the beautifully decorated windows, and not to mention the holiday markets. Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares perfectly captures New York City in the winter.

I love that, through reading Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares, I had the chance to discover a New York I didn’t know. One that only exists during the winter months. For example, I hadn’t a clue that Dyker Heights, a place in Brooklyn known for it’s over the top Christmas light display, even existed.

What I love most though about this book is the way it made me feel. Besides leaving me warm and fuzzy inside, I simply adore the serendipitous, almost magical feel this book offers readers.

wintertown

Winter Town by Steve Emond

Steve Emond’s Winter Town is a great winter read for two very important reasons.

Besides the words that fill the pages of Emond’s book, there are also images. Comic images which exquisitely capture the look, the feel, and the coolness not just of the season but the characters in this book. And speaking of the characters (they’re great), but the reason why I truly consider this to be a favorite winter read is because it seems as if the characters grow and change alongside the season.

What are some of your favorite winter reads?

(All the images featured in this post were created by using PicMonkey)

Leave a Reply

