BookBandit Beauty Basics: Product Review: Redken Color Extend Shampoo/Condition

BOOKBANDITBEAUTYBASICS

A month or two ago I dyed my hair. This isn’t the first time I’ve dyed my hair, but it is the first time that I’ve decided I was really going to take care and nurture the color. By that, I mean I would use shampoo and/or conditioner that would extend the life of the color.

So when my hair dresser suggested Redken’s Color Extend shampoo and conditioner, I listened. I bought a small bottle of both the shampoo and the conditioner. And as luck would have it, it was buy one get one half off, so I couldn’t quite possibly walk away from a deal like that. Could I?!

unnamed

I started using Redken’s Color Extend shampoo and conditioner right away. And almost immediately I didn’t like it. I didn’t like the way it made my hair look after washing. I didn’t like how my hair felt both during and after washing. I didn’t even like the smell of it.

I was told that a little of Redken’s Color Extend shampoo/conditioner would go a long way. Not true. At least not for my hair.

When I used a nickel sized amount of shampoo it just would not lather. It coated my hair, but just barely. No matter how much I rubbed the shampoo into my hair and scalp it simply wouldn’t lather. I was convinced that it couldn’t lather.  Because of this it made my hair feel, not only heavy, but also straw-like.  As if this wasn’t bad enough I found that if I didn’t condition my hair after shampooing, then my hair ended up a tangled mess of knots.

The conditioner wasn’t much better. Texture wise, Redken’s Color Extend conditioner doesn’t feel as rich or as thick as other conditioners I’ve used and loved in the past. It felt thin and unfortunately oily. Because of this, admittedly I was a bit scared as to how this product would leave my hair.

With a small amount of shampoo and an equally small amount of conditioner I washed my hair daily with Redken’s Color Extend. And each and every time I used this product, or rather the amount of the product I was using, my hair turned out limp and often oily. Yes, oily, even after washing my hair.

As if all of this wasn’t bad enough I do not like the smell of both the shampoo and the conditioner. In all honesty I cannot describe the smell, but it smells like hair dye itself. Which, if you’ve ever dyed your hair, than you know isn’t the best smell in the world.

But because I spend money on these products, and because I do not like to waste money I am still using both the shampoo and the conditioner. As of recently I started using more – more shampoo and more conditioner simply to use the products up and be done with them. However, I found out that the more shampoo used, the better my hair looks and feels. With more product it seemed as if my hair responded well to it. It didn’t look or feel like oily straw. But not matter how much product I used my hair still need up a knotty mess.

I don’t love Redken’s Color Extend, and I don’t think it likes my hair. I will continue to use it until it is all used up. But I most likely will not buy another Redken product after this experience.  With that being said, I am looking for a decently priced color extending shampoo and conditioner. Any suggestions, feel free to comment!

2 thoughts on “BookBandit Beauty Basics: Product Review: Redken Color Extend Shampoo/Condition

  1. missprint says:

    Sometimes washing your hair daily can be bad for it. Maybe using a health dose but every other day could lead to better results?

Leave a Reply

