Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I’d Recommend to My Teen Self

securedownload

(Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. The above photo was taken and altered by me*)

Looking back there are a lot of classic books that I wished I had the chance to read, books that I probably should have read while I was a true high school student. Looking back, my high school Lit classes seemed to focus a lot on Shakespeare, and quite honestly not enough on the classics.

So for today’s Top Ten Tuesday post I am recommending books not to my mother (who doesn’t read even though I know there are books out there that she would really enjoy), not to reluctant readers, but to my former teenage self.  (And yes, this list is all the classics that I feel I should have read while in high school!)

10. War of the Worlds by H.G. Wells

9. Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck

8. The Call of the Wild by Jack London

7. Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery

6. Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck

5.  Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens

4. Little  Women by Louisa May Alcott

3. Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

2. The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton

1. Catcher In The Rye by J.D. Salinger

(*The above photo was taken and was altered by myself. Please do not steal or “borrow” the photo! It’s just wrong, and mean)

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I’d Recommend to My Teen Self

  1. Mrs.AOK says:

    I was suppose to read quite a few of these books in my high school honors english class…
    I read a portion of them and then I borrowed CliffsNotes off of friends… so sad! I wish I had read these books all the way through.
    The only book that ever captivated my heart in High School was the Great Gatsby 🙂
    I couldn’t wait to dive into the pages…

Leave a Reply

