BookBandit Beauty Basics: Lipstick Haul (#1)

BOOKBANDITBEAUTYBASICSHello Readers!

So yeah … I went a bit overboard. I bought one too many lipsticks. Granted I didn’t buy all of these at one time, I purchased a few here and a few there. But still, there’s quite a few.

In total, I’m going to be talking about the five lipsticks I purchased over the past few weeks, and the three lip glosses I bought alongside those lipsticks.

Okay, sooo…

For the past few weeks or so I’ve been eying Rimmel London’s Lasting Finish Lipstick, the Kate Moss edition. I’ve been eying the Lasting Finish Lipsticks for several reasons. One, I like Rimmel products. I use their BB cream, their eyeshadow primer, and even their Apocalips lip glosses. Two, because I like their products that I’ve already been using I wanted to try a Rimmel London product that I have yet to try. And three, the shades in which these lipsticks come in are simply beautiful. From bold reds to subdued pinks there really seems to be a color for every girl out there.

Beyond these reasons I’ve been hearing a lot of buzz about the Kate Moss line. One of my favorite YouTubers has raved about them, and even a close personal friend of mine has told me how awesome they are. So I knew I just had to try Rimmel’s Lasting Finish lipstick out for myself.

While browsing the cosmetic isle of Walmart, I stumbled upon one shade that I’ve looked at several times before, but never actually purchased (#103), and another that I hadn’t seen because it seems to be sold out every store I go to. (#09)

Besides loving the colors of these two, which I obviously did end up buying for a mere five dollars each (what a steal! they are close to six or seven at my local Walgreens) I wanted these two specific shades because they were polar opposites, shade wise. Number 103 is a light mauve-ish pink, which number 09 is a deep wine/berry red color.

photo 2-2photo 1-1

(#103)

photo 2-1photo 1

(#09)

Now I haven’t actually used either of these lipsticks (yet) but I know I’m going to love them. For one thing they smell delicious. Normally, lipstick smells waxy to me. Almost like a crayon. But number 103 has a sweet watermelon scent, while number 09 has a deep raspberry or cherry scent (which normally I would detest! I don’t like cherry flavored/scented anything…with the exception of this because it smells like the fresh fruit as opposed to the artificial stuff).

As of lately I’ve been buying a lot of pinks and reds, which I like. But now that the summer months are fading into autumn I wanted some warmer shades to dress my lips with. Because I’m no beauty expert, and I’m not one hundred percent certain I can pull off more brown/neutral toned shades I decided to buy a few lipsticks for NYX.

I’ve heard a lot about NYX’s products, and I’ve heard mostly good things (again from YouTubers I follow like Samantha Schuerman, Melissa Raymond) about them. Because I heard such good things, and because I knew that NYX cosmetics are very reasonably priced, I decided to buy, not one, but two (and that doesn’t include the three lip glosses I purchased, which I’ll talk about later).

I purchased from Ulta NYX’s round case lipstick in #550 Indian Pink and NYX’s Glam Lipstick Aqua Luxe in #05 Enchanting. The round case lipstick in Indian Pink is almost a cross between a pink and a clay color, with subtle hints of an orange glow, making it appear as if it’s a shimmery coral color. The below photo of the Indian Pink swatched on my hand truly does not do this color any justice.

photo-12photo-9

The Aqua Luxe lipstick  is super soft, and glides on seamlessly. Well, at least when I swatched it (I have yet to actually try it on my lips). Enchanting is simply dazzling. It’s a light copper color with a sheen of sparkles. For three dollsare I just had to have, not one, but both of these lipsticks! (I’m not actually going to show a swatch of this shade, because quite frankly the picture is awful, and you can’t really see the true shade. But you can get the idea from the below picture of the actual lipstick)

photo-11

While I was in Ulta I came across the Essence display. I have never used Essence before. I haven’t heard a lot about it. But I picked up one of their lipsticks simply because … well I liked the color (first and foremost) and let’s be honest, it was cheap.  It was another three dollar steal. I bought it in the shade of Look At Me. Judging from the name you’d think that it’s a bold, statement shade of lipstick. But it is actually a soft neutral brown.

Onto the lip glosses (which is a term I’m using loosely here because they are all super pigmented, and feel more like a liquid lipstick if you know what I mean)

While in Ulta, while I was purchasing the two NYX lipsticks and the one Essence lipstick, I stumbled quite accidentally upon NYX’s butter gloss (there was a display steps away from the actual NYX case). There were a lot of pinks, and a few light red colors. But like I mentioned earlier I was looking for more brown/neutral colors, I found one number 07 Tiramisu, and it was a light beige color. It’s subtle, but quite beautiful.

photo 1-2

Moving on to Target, which I was only in to buy stocking for my Halloween costume (I was Coraline), I made a brief pit stop in their cosmetic section. There I found two more NYX glosses (I didn’t realize that Target even sells NYX, my local one does not which I’m disappointed by). I bought a soft matte lip cream in number 08 San Paolo which is appears to be a cross between a brick-red and a deep rose-pink. Which seems like an odd combination, but actually works.

photo 2-3

I also bought NYX’s Mega Shine Lip Gloss in Cosmo which is a true copper color with a bold shimmer.

Now both the butter gloss and the matte lip cream smell like frosting, but not the sickly sweet kind. I have a funny feeling it’s going to take some real self-control on my part to not lick this stuff off my lips ha ha. They smell just that good.

The Mega Gloss I purchased smells, once again, like cherry. But not the kind of cherry that I like, rather the artificial kind. But it’s not overpowering so it’s a smell that I could easily learn to live with.

To say the least, I’m super excited to try out these lipsticks. I may even write a review … or two about them!

Readers, what are some of your favorite lipsticks and/or glosses? Please share. Also if you want me to do a review on one of the lip products I talked about today, leave a comment or feel free to e-mail me at: BookBanditBeautyBasics@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

