BookBandit Beauty Basics: Product Review: Ulta Gel Eyeliner

BOOKBANDITBEAUTYBASICS

(Warning: This post will include pictures of the mentioned product. But be warned that these pictures are not the greatest pictures ever taken.)

Admittedly, I love eyeliner. I absolutely love the way it makes my eyes just POP! And while I love the color and texture of the current eyeliner I’m using, as of lately I’m not very happy with it. So, what’s a girl to do when she finds herself in this sort of predicament?

She buys new eyeliner.

So while I was browsing a not so local Ulta Store I picked up three  of the Ulta Brand Gel Eyeliners in Majesty, Peacock, and Night Sky. I bought three for two very different reasons. For one thing they were buy three for the price of one. And secondly, because I’ve been a bit daring wanting to break out of my black eyeliner shell. I’ve been wanting to try a vibrant colored eyeliner for some time, but didn’t want to spend a load of money on it either.

What drew me instantly to these three particular colors was just that: the color. Majesty is a deep purple, but not so deep that you can’t actually tell it’s purple. Peacock is a cross between an emerald and jungle green. And Night Sky is a light charcoal black color with flecks of silver sparkle.  They swatched beautifully, I could tell from the moment I swiped the liner across my hand that these eyeliners were super pigmented. And that was exactly what I was looking for.

photo-8

Beyond the color and the pigmentation, this gel-based eyeliner pencil seemed to be applied easily. They have a great texture, and they don’t make your water or lash line dry. It was smooth and slick without being oily. Nor did it feel sticky, on both my hand when I swatched and on my waterline when I lined my eye. Because of this quality I honestly feel that a little bit goes a long way.

I wear eyeliner on my waterline, that is the bottom eyelid. The waterline tends to be a bit more moist, for obvious reasons, that the top last line. When I tried on two of the three purchased Ulta Gel Eyeliner all it took was one quick swipe and my eyes were instantly lined. I really liked that.

But here’s where things turn South for me.

I was really looking forward to trying out Majesty. It’s a beautiful, creamy purple that, in my head I imagined would look great when paired with silver/light grey eyeshadow.  When I applied it to my waterline the beautiful purple seemed as if it was black, not purple like I imagined and assumed it would be. Disappointed doesn’t even begin to describe how I felt. In short, I was let down by Ulta’s Gel Eyeliner in Majesty.

Purple Majesty Swatch

But I didn’t let that deter me. I still had two more eyeliner pencils to try, and I was determined to like at least one of them. I tried Night Sky next.  Unlike the Gel Eyeliner in Majesty I found that the Night Sky eyeliner pencil did not apply as easily. I ran it over my waterline several times and found that no actual liner was appearing. Instead there was a fleck of a sparkle here and there. Not cool Night Sky!

I thought, upon swatching this eyeliner on my hand (as you do when testing makeup products in store) that this eyeliner would be a light black with some sparkly flecks. I thought it would make my eyes look great, and that it would fancy up an everyday makeup look. I thought wrong, obviously.

IMG_1738

Disappointed, I didn’t have high hopes for Ulta’s Gel Eyeliner in Peacock. At this point I’ve been burned two times before, so I was sure I’d be burned again. Well, surprise, surprise! Turns out Peacock was everything I wanted and more!

Like Majesty, Peacock applies easily, proving that when it comes to Ulta products a little bit definitely goes a long way. What I loved about Peacock though, is that once on my waterline the color was true to swatch! Peacock looked just as vibrant on my waterline as it does on the packaging.  And besides that, the gel liner in Peacock looked really awesome when paired with some green eye shadow!

Peacock Swatch

I was impressed by Peacock. It shattered all of my low expectations. But in all honesty, going forward, I probably wouldn’t purchase any more of Ulta Brand’s Gel Eyeliner. Why? Because it’s just too much of a gamble for me. Out of the three I purchased and expected to like and really get some use out of, I only really liked one.

Leave a Reply

